Large Creature:Whip Threat: Base and Whip Mastery


Rules Questions


Basically, does the whip still only threaten to 5 feet if you're Large, or to base threat range? If you have the Whip Mastery feat that allows you to threaten 10 feet, does that mean that you then threaten to 20 feet as though you were using a normal reach weapon?

Grand Lodge

If you are Large, and don't have the Improved Whip Mastery feat, or some sort of racial ability that provides the ability, you don't threaten with the whip. You may have other abilities or items that provide threatening, but the whip does not.

And, just as a point of clarification, Improved Whip Mastery does not provide 10' of threatened area, it actually provides a threatened area equal to your normal threatened area plus 5', so a Large creature, would threaten either 10' or 15' with a whip with this feat, depending on whether they have a 5' or 10' reach to begin with.

Assuming a Medium PC under the effects of Enlarge Person or similar effect, they would threaten out to 15' with their whip, where they normally only threaten to 10' with the whip when Medium.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Large Creature:Whip Threat: Base and Whip Mastery All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions