Are Skald and Barbarian Rage Powers additive?


Rules Questions


A Skald's inspired rage doesn't allow an allied barbarian (or bloodrager) to use the barbarian's own rage powers, though the barbarian can use their own rage bonuses, nor does the barbarian's rage add on extra bonuses to the inspired rage if they use it.

But can they use their own rage while remaining under the effects of inspired rage and use both sets of rage powers? Or can they only be under one rage at a time? This FAQ seems to say that they can only use the one, but a friend was debating the point, and I thought I'd look for clarification - particularly on a bloodrager's abilities.


This is the rules forum for the Adventure Card Game, not the RPG. I've flagged your post to be moved to the RPG rules area.

As Inspired Rage is part of Raging Song, I'd assume you have to pick one or the other (as per the linked FAQ). I haven't played with a Skald, though.


Whoops, thanks. Just clicked on Rules Questions, didn't think about it.


The FAQ entry seems pretty rigorous although it's wording is off and implies that the motivation for the FAQ entry was the morale bonus alone... which does not stack in the first place.

I mean basically no Barbarian, Bloodrager or Skald could ever benefit from the rage spell while in her own (blood-)rage or raging song.


Michael Klaus wrote:

The FAQ entry seems pretty rigorous although it's wording is off and implies that the motivation for the FAQ entry was the morale bonus alone... which does not stack in the first place.

Yeah, the intent of the FAQ does seem to be to clarify that you can't stack rage bonuses (which we already knew). The original rules are a little vaguer on Rage Powers, though, and thus the question.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I agree that it isn't clear. I don't think it works because everything seems to indicate you have to choose your source of rage but I can't find anything that expressly forbids it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are Skald and Barbarian Rage Powers additive? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions