Summon spells and caster death


Rules Questions


Hi all,

So this came up in my game the other day. One of the casters my players were fighting started casting summon monster. Casting time 1 round.

Since a 1 round spell casts as a full-round action, he did finish casting it on his turn, but then was killed before the monster materialized just before his next turn.

Would the summoned monster still appear or would the spell fizzle?


PRD - Summon Monster wrote:
This spell summons an extraplanar creature (typically an outsider, elemental, or magical beast native to another plane). It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn.

Edit: NM was wrong on that. Forgot that a full round spell does take effect the turn after it was cast. So they would appear the round after and behave as normal creatures of their type.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Fizzles

PRD wrote:
When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the concentration from the current round to just before your turn in the next round (at least). If you lose concentration before the casting is complete, you lose the spell.

The casting wasn't complete until just before his next turn, when the monster shows up. Death prevents him from completing the spell.


Samasboy1 wrote:

Fizzles

PRD wrote:
When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the concentration from the current round to just before your turn in the next round (at least). If you lose concentration before the casting is complete, you lose the spell.
The casting wasn't complete until just before his next turn, when the monster shows up. Death prevents him from completing the spell.

Wow! How did I miss that. It was two lines down :)

Thanks for pointing that part out.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summon spells and caster death All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.