RAW Inquiry: Is Ki Throw eligible for Ki Focus?


Rules Questions


Ki Focus

Quote:
The magic weapon serves as a channel for the wielder's ki, allowing her to use her special ki attacks through the weapon as if they were unarmed attacks. These attacks include the monk's ki strike, quivering palm, and the Stunning Fist feat (including any condition that the monk can apply using this feat).

Ki Throw

Quote:
Benefit: On a successful unarmed trip attack against a target your size or smaller, you may throw the target prone in any square you threaten rather than its own square. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and you cannot throw the creature into a space occupied by other creatures.

Could you use a ki focus weapon to use Ki Throw?

Scarab Sages

No Ki focus is specific on what attacks are allowed, and Ki Throw is not one of those. Additionally, Ki throw specifies the trip attack must be unarmed.

However, Ascetic Style would allow you yo use Ki Throw with a monk weapon.


Yes, you could use ki throw with a ki focus weapon; the ki focus weapon inclusively allows monks to use all of their special ki attacks through the weapon as if they were unarmed attacks, and ki throw is a special unarmed ki attack. The list of examples at the end of the ki focus description is just that, a list of examples, and not an exclusive list (the key phrase being "these attacks include").

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / RAW Inquiry: Is Ki Throw eligible for Ki Focus? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions