is there a difference between.....


Rules Questions


carrying a tower shield and using it to block a swarm of arrows (think the scene from 300). and being able to use a tower shield in combat? please tell be there is a difference that i am not mad.


Quote:

In most situations, a tower shield provides the indicated shield bonus to your Armor Class. As a standard action, however, you can use a tower shield to grant you total cover until the beginning of your next turn. When using a tower shield in this way, you must choose one edge of your space. That edge is treated as a solid wall for attacks targeting you only. You gain total cover for attacks that pass through this edge and no cover for attacks that do not pass through this edge (see Combat). The shield does not, however, provide cover against targeted spells; a spellcaster can cast a spell on you by targeting the shield you are holding. You cannot bash with a tower shield, nor can you use your shield hand for anything else.

When employing a tower shield in combat, you take a –2 penalty on attack rolls because of the shield's encumbrance.

Quote:

Tower Shield Proficiency

You are trained in how to properly use a tower shield.

Prerequisite: Shield Proficiency.

Benefit: When you use a tower shield, the shield's armor check penalty only applies to Strength and Dexterity-based skills.

Normal: A character using a shield with which he is not proficient takes the shield's armor check penalty on attack rolls and on all skill checks that involve moving, including Ride.

By RAW it looks like you use the 'total cover' protection, even if you don't have proficiency with the tower shield.

Characters who do not have proficiency can use a tower shield in combat and get the +4AC, but they take an extra -10 to all attack rolls from the ACP in addition to the -2 everyone gets.


okay thanks would you get a negative for running your full movement while carrying the tower shield?


Aside from encombrance I don't think so. Unless you needed an acrobatics to cross something, or a fly or swim or ride check. Basically if you're not encombered (move speed penalty) or rolling a D20 (check that isn't purely mental in nature) you don't lose anything for carrying the shield.


okay thank you

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / is there a difference between..... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions