Willful suppression of constant spell-like abilities...


Rules Questions

Contributor

I found a couple of old threads that come close to asking this question directly, but none that outright answer it, so I'm hoping there's been some update or FAQ I haven't been able to find, or that someone can point out something I'm missing.

Contextual rules the first: "Usually, a spell-like ability works just like the spell of that name. A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus. The user activates it mentally." --Core Rulebook, p. 221

Contextual rules the second: "Constant spell-like abilities function at all times but can be dispelled. A creature can reactivate a constant spell-like ability as a swift action." --Bestiary, p. 6

Question: Can a creature willfully suppress one of its own constant spell-like abilities?

I will outline the situation that cause me to be wondering this in spoilered text below. The spoilers are for PFS Scenario #7-09 The Blakros Connection.

Example Situation:
In this PFS scenario, one encounter takes place in a hazardous area described as a "primal magic zone." The zone has a number of different (mostly negative) effects, triggered by magic as described in this quoted text:

"Whenever a creature activates a magic item, casts a spell, or uses a spell-like ability in the sealed wing, there is a 50% chance that the spell effect is replaced by a special primal magical effect."

Now, one of the creatures which might be present in the hazardous area is a Sprite Swarm from Fey Revisited. The way the scenario is written, the swarm has been present in the area for some time. Sprite Swarms have two constant spell-like abilities, detect evil and detect good.

I am positive that the designer of the scenario did not intend for the swarm to have to have been assumed to have made percentage chance rolls, made saves, and dealt with various negative effects every six seconds (maybe even twice every six seconds) since it has been present in the zone. Actually, I don't even see a way for the swarm to statistically still be alive at the point in the timeline the encounter takes place if that were true. And when I run this scenario, I will almost certainly run it as if those two spell-like abilities do not provoke the effects of the zone.

However, I'm still curious about my question outside this spoiler text, above. Speaking purely technically, should those two abilities be considered to be being "used" within the zone, since they are constant?

Thanks in advance for any insights or directions to rulings.


you would only roll if their ability had been dispelled, and then only once, when they turned it back on.

You don't roll every round it is on, just when it is activated.

You don't roll if it was on when they entered the area either.

Can monsters choose to turn them off? I would say yes, but WHY? :)

Scarab Sages

Based on the text in your spoiler, the effect happens only "Whenever a creature activates a magic item, casts a spell, or uses a spell-like ability". If the ability was activated before entering the area, it shouldn't be effected.

Unless there is something that states existing spell effects are also targeted, such as walking into the area with a mage armor spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Willful suppression of constant spell-like abilities... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.