How Many Tiny Creatures Can Be in a Square with One Medium Creature?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

At some point, I would like to use Summon Nature's Ally to summon multiple stirges into a square with an opponent.

Sounds nasty, doesn't it? Their CMD is only 9, but you can only try to remove one at a time.


As individual creatures, go instead by the table in Creature-Sizes which lists a tiny creature with a space of 2.5'. Which means 8 per 5' cube.

If you make them weaker, and part of a Swarm, you can get more: 3pp example

Quote:
A single swarm occupies a square (if it is made up of nonflying creatures) or a cube (of flying creatures) 10 feet on a side, but its reach is 0 feet, like its component creatures.
Quote:
A swarm of Tiny creatures consists of 300 nonflying creatures or 1,000 flying creatures.

1 square = 1/4 area covered by a swarm.

Therefore, 300/4 = 75 non-flying creatures.
1 square = 1/8 volume covered by a swarm.
Therefore, 1000/8 = 125 flying creatures.

Swarms can occupy the same space as a creature.

Therefore, you can fit up to 125 Stirges in the opponent's space as a swarm.

/cevah

Sczarni

Cevah wrote:
As individual creatures, go instead by the table in Creature-Sizes which lists a tiny creature with a space of 2.5'. Which means 8 per 5' cube.

I usually go by the PRD, which states that "four can fit into a single square".

Although, they are flying, and that does say "square". Three dimensions gets funky sometimes.


Theconiel wrote:

At some point, I would like to use Summon Nature's Ally to summon multiple stirges into a square with an opponent.

Sounds nasty, doesn't it? Their CMD is only 9, but you can only try to remove one at a time.

Medium and Small = 5 ft area (1x1x1 / 5 ft block) = 1

Tiny = 2.5 ft area (2x2x2 / 5 ft block) = 8


Stirges are a foot long, so about the size of a cat. How many cats can cover you? Like alot, right? 20 or 30 cats?

For non-gamebreaking purposes I would go with Nefreet and say 4 per square.

Remember, if anybody asks why, you can always say "Magic".


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

You cannot summon the stirges into a square occupied by a medium creature.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

"The summoned ally appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn."

"Creatures cannot be summoned into an environment that cannot support them."

I don't see anything against summoning into occupied squares if the creature would be capable of going into that square normally.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Let's not forget the space occupied by the poor soul having these Stirges summoned around him. Yes, the PRD says 4 Tiny creatures in one square (and possibly more considering it's actually a cube, and the creatures can fly), but with a Medium-sized creature in the same square, as a GM, I'd halve these numbers. And let's not forget that a Medium-sized creature doesn't - by default - occupy 5'sq. This space represents the space he needs to fight effectively - juking, twisting, and adjusting his stance. The same must be so for the tiny creatures, which is why you can only fit 4 Tiny-sized creatures in a square, even though we all know you can normally fit dozens of cat-sized creatures into the same space while they're motionless.

So if this was proposed at my table, I'd allow 2 Tiny-sized creatures to occupy the same square as a Medium-sized creature, or 4 if the Tiny-sized creatures could fly.

P.S. RAW doesn't seem to account for any of this, but I think it would be a fairly reasonable call.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Rules wrote:
Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.

Yes, a tiny creature may move into an occupied square. However, I don't believe he can STAY there, unless there is some other rule in effect (such as the Stirge's Attach ability).

By the "Big And Little Creatures In Combat" table, a small or medium create takes up the five foot square. Completely. Unless the second creature is three sizes smaller. (Medium -> Small -> Tiny -> Diminuative).

All these other suggestions above are house rules. Reasonable house rules, house rules that make sense, but house rules none the less.


Quote:
into or through an occupied square

Into - if they're going to stay in that square - or through, if they're not going to stay in that square.

I've never heard of anyone ruling otherwise.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Rules wrote:
Creatures that take up less than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 0 feet, meaning they can't reach into adjacent squares. They must enter an opponent's square to attack in melee.

INTO: if they're going to make an attack. I still see NO rules support for them remaining there in violation of the "one creature per square unless you're three sizes different" rule.

Rules wrote:
Ending Your Movement: You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.

Find me where it says otherwise for creatures <> different by three size categories


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There's no rule that lets a Small creature enter a Gargantuan creature's square, but there is a rule:
"Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square."
This is a specific rule that overrides the general rule that creatures can't end their movement in the same square as other creatures. The 'or' bit makes it clear that they don't have to move 'through' - which means they can stop.

The alternative is that tiny creatures can't attack without a feat like Spring Attack because you can't normally attack during a move. And that would be stupid.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I'm sorry, being allowed to ENTER another creature's square and being allowed to REMAIN in another creature's square are two different things.

A tiny creature doesn't need spring attack. It MUST enter another creature's square to ATTACK, but then would get shunted out again (unless that creature is three sizes bigger or is also tiny or smaller) because there is NO legal way for them to remain (except by special statement in the description of the creature).

Unless you can find some rule I can't.

I agree that diminutive and smaller can remain with a medium creature. However, tiny cannot because they are not three sizes different. If creatures <> three sizes different should truly be able to remain, then we need that stated AND the stacking limits defined. We're back to the OPs question.

EDITED:clarity of 3 size difference

EDIT2:
If indeed tiny can co-exist with medium without special dispensation, THEN the stacking limits have to apply separately, so 4 tinies or 25 diminutives or 100 fines.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

@SlimGauge: you've stumbled onto one of my pet peeves.

1) Tiny creatures have to enter the square of an enemy to attack it.
2) You're not allowed to end you movement in someone else's square. Note: end your movement, not turn.

Taken together, tiny creatures can't attack, because they move, end their movement, get booted out of the square immediately when their movement ends, and then they can't attack because they're too far away.

It's been said before by developers that the rules are written with medium/small creatures in mind. If you get away from that, some rules break. This is one of those cases.

The common fix in my experience is that if you can enter someone's square based on one of those size difference rules, then you can also stay there.


Ascalaphus wrote:

@SlimGauge: you've stumbled onto one of my pet peeves.

1) Tiny creatures have to enter the square of an enemy to attack it.
2) You're not allowed to end you movement in someone else's square. Note: end your movement, not turn.

Taken together, tiny creatures can't attack, because they move, end their movement, get booted out of the square immediately when their movement ends, and then they can't attack because they're too far away.

It's been said before by developers that the rules are written with medium/small creatures in mind. If you get away from that, some rules break. This is one of those cases.

The common fix in my experience is that if you can enter someone's square based on one of those size difference rules, then you can also stay there.

For the same reason you talk about above, we allow AoO on them if they are summoned INTO your square.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I dunno about that. Appearing from being summoned isn't something that normally provokes AoOs, so why should it do so if the critter materializes even closer?


Ascalaphus wrote:
I dunno about that. Appearing from being summoned isn't something that normally provokes AoOs, so why should it do so if the critter materializes even closer?

Oh I wasn't claiming it was RAW, just how we deal with it, because (as we saw above) creatures smaller than Small get weird, especially when going into occupied squares.


Good thread, my reasoning follows Ascalaphus'. Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How Many Tiny Creatures Can Be in a Square with One Medium Creature? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions