Shadow Evocation - Unconscious Character


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

If I shadow evocation a fireball with an unconscious character in the blast do they automatically make there save? Can they be effected by the spell when they are down?

Thanks


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Being unconscious doesn't affect a creature's ability to make saving throws, with a few exceptions:

* They are treated as having a Dexterity of 0.
* They are considered a willing target (although they can still make a saving throw).

Additionally, it's reasonable to assume that any spell which requires them to see or hear specific things will fail to work, but these types of things are typically called out in the spell in question.

However, shadow evocation has very real effects, even if they're mostly illusionary. Thus, they get a saving throw as per normal. If you'd like, consider their subconscious to be potentially tricked by the spell.


That is what I had ruled but wanted confirmation so thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shadow Evocation - Unconscious Character All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions