
![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Does the caster require 2 free hands when casting a spell with both somatic (S) and material (M/F/DF) components?
The rules indicate caster must have one hand free for a spell with somatic components. Nothing is stated regarding the material components.
I'm sure that as GMs we've all "hand-waved" this rule to allow casters to cast these types of spells with a single hand free, but is this RAI or RAW (which the latter I believe are vague).

Crimeo |
Preparing materials is a free action BEFORE casting which does not by RAW clearly require any hands. Although even if you rule that it does need a hand just for common sense purposes, it still would have no reason to interfere with the hand requirements of a somatic spell, because prepping the ingredients again is a free action prior to and separate from casting.
Then, while casting the spell, the materials have already been prepped, and so you should still only need one hand for the somatic component.

Matthew Downie |

![]() |

But pretty much everyone thinks the hand for manipulating material components can be the same hand used for somatic components - otherwise metamagic rods would be almost useless.
... :-/ ... and I did a search on this topic ... didn't see that thread.
Sorry for appearing to be one of those dopes that posts before searching.