Using Spell Immunity as an offensive spell?


Rules Questions


I searched, but couldn't find an answer.

Can you cast Spell Immunity on someone to make them immune to Protection from Evil, and then cast mind controlling spells on them?

Spell description:

The warded creature is immune to the effects of one specified spell for every four levels you have. The spells must be of 4th level or lower. The warded creature effectively has unbeatable spell resistance regarding the specified spell or spells. Naturally, that immunity doesn't protect a creature from spells for which spell resistance doesn't apply. Spell immunity protects against spells, spell-like effects of magic items, and innate spell-like abilities of creatures. It does not protect against supernatural or extraordinary abilities, such as breath weapons or gaze attacks.

I'm making a mind-controlling specialist NPC and am trying to figure out how to work around the usual defense against such spells.

Thanks for any insight.


It requires a Will save and is a touch spell so you could certainly cast it on hostiles.

However, the rule uses the spell resistance mechanic. A caster is never affected by its own spell resistance.

For a spell casters minions it might have some application but don't forget they can lower their resistance as a standard action.

I think you would get very little utility from this spell for the level requirement.


If you pull off the Touch Attack (or Ranged Touch Attack with Reach Spell), they fail their save, and the Spell Immunity you cast blocks a protective buff that allows for Spell Resistance, it should work if they haven't already gotten it up, but not if they already have it up. Note that Protection from {Alignment} and Magic Cirle against {Alignment} do not allow Spell Resistance except for the purpose of a creature of whatever alignment attempting to overcome the warding effect to be able to touch the protected creature(s) (or to escape from a Magic Circle Against {Alignment} that has been turned inside out, if it has not been cast with a diagram). This means that Spell Immunity cannot be used offensively against these particular defensive spells.


Awww, ninja'd

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using Spell Immunity as an offensive spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.