| CloudCobra |
With the publishing of Occult Adventures (pp. 208-214) and Occult Origins (p.26), non-spellcasters are now able to "cast" spells - if you will - using rituals. Granted, even when successfully performed, each occult ritual causes a backlash that affects at least the caster leading the ritual, and often those assisting in its performance, by dealing damage or some sort of curse.
The question:
Since rituals are always - at minimum - considered to be Level 4, would a single ritual meet the requirement of Ability to cast 2nd-level arcane spells? Or does this not work because of the fact that we never deal with any slots like in regards with the Alchemist Discovery Spell Knowledge?
| CloudCobra |
The trouble comes from this particular passage...
It’s a common belief that only those initiated in the rites and practices of arcane, divine, or psychic magic can cast spells, but this is not strictly true. Hidden within dusty libraries and amid the ramblings of lunatics lie the mysteries of another form of spellcasting — occult ritual magic. These spells are rare...
Clearly rituals are considered spells eventhough they are not associated with any class.
Also, backlash is not a prize for completion, but rather a punishment for each failed check.
That also does not seem to be the case.
"Even when successfully performed, each occult ritual has a price — a backlash that affects at least the caster leading the ritual, and often those assisting in its performance.
The rules for the creation of these rituals were also made rather liberal. It is possible to tailor a character towards one particular skill check and create a ritual around one particular skill to get the ritual's DC for that skill check down to DC 21 or 22, putting it within reach of a Level 1 character.
Maybe this now changed into a Rules Question rather than an Advice question...
Given that each ritual does follow an arcane school it could be argued RAW that they are arcane in nature, but since the Core Rulebook (p.209) does not seem to distinguish the schools of magic to be limited to arcane magic that seems to be less likely.
| Milo v3 |
Given that each ritual does follow an arcane school
Every spell and magic item does that, that does not mean it is arcane. Also, you do not have a ritual, thus you do not count. Rituals are as much part of your character as a soup recipe. Everyone can do it, it is not a thing your character has.
You do not know how to cast level 2 arcane spells, if it did, then every creature on the planet would count as being able to cast level 4 arcane spells.