Can a wizard add a spell from a scroll to their spellbook?


Rules Questions


I have a scroll of create pit and I wanted to know if it's possible to copy it to my spellbook? If I can, would it cost me anything else besides the normal spellbook scribing costs? I figure this would probably destroy the scroll and I would still need the material focus to cast it in the future.

Scarab Sages

Yes, you can copy spells from scrolls to your spellbook.

Magic wrote:
Spells Copied from Another's Spellbook or a Scroll: A wizard can also add a spell to his book whenever he encounters one on a magic scroll or in another wizard's spellbook. No matter what the spell's source, the wizard must first decipher the magical writing (see Arcane Magical Writings). Next, he must spend 1 hour studying the spell. At the end of the hour, he must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell's level). A wizard who has specialized in a school of spells gains a +2 bonus on the Spellcraft check if the new spell is from his specialty school. If the check succeeds, the wizard understands the spell and can copy it into his spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). The process leaves a spellbook that was copied from unharmed, but a spell successfully copied from a magic scroll disappears from the parchment.


Imbicatus wrote:
Yes, you can copy spells from scrolls to your spellbook.

Many thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a wizard add a spell from a scroll to their spellbook? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions