Caster level required to create a sunblade?


Rules Questions


Per the magic item creation rules:

"Creating a magic weapon has a special prerequisite: The creator's caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met. A magic weapon must have at least a 1 enhancement bonus to have any melee or ranged special weapon abilities."

So what is the caster level requirement to create a Sun Blade?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/magic-weapons/specific-magic-weapons/su n-blade

Is it 6 (3 x the normal +2 enhancement bonus), 12 (3 x its +4 enhancement bonus vs evil) or something else keyed off one of its other properties?

Liberty's Edge

For existing items the caster level is always listed right at the top of the entry;

"Aura moderate evocation; CL 10th; Weight 2 lbs.; Price 50,335 gp"

As to how they got to 10th, that gets tricky with items that don't fit the simple pattern, but I'd guess that someone estimated it was about equivalent to a +5 weapon quality overall.


CBDunkerson wrote:

For existing items the caster level is always listed right at the top of the entry;

"Aura moderate evocation; CL 10th; Weight 2 lbs.; Price 50,335 gp"

As to how they got to 10th, that gets tricky with items that don't fit the simple pattern, but I'd guess that someone estimated it was about equivalent to a +5 weapon quality overall.

I don't think we can infer the special weapon caster level requirement from the CL of the item. A +1 Flaming sword would have a CL of 10, but a caster level requirement of only 3. (Though of course you couldn't even have the feat at 3rd level...)

Edit - Also, 10 doesn't work as an answer because the rule says we're multiplying by 3 to get there, and 10 isn't evenly divisible by 3.


Sunblade is a very specific item so you use the caster level listed in the box. Which is 10. actual a +1 Flaming sword requirement is Cl requirement is a 10. you take the great of of the caster levels.

as per this rule

Caster Level for Weapons: The caster level of a weapon with a special ability is given in the item description. For an item with only an enhancement bonus and no other abilities, the caster level is three times the enhancement bonus. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met.

but note you can ignore the caster level requirement when crafting/upgrading and Item by adding 5 to the DC of the crafting check.


KainPen wrote:

Sunblade is a very specific item so you use the caster level listed in the box. Which is 10. actual a +1 Flaming sword requirement is Cl requirement is a 10. you take the great of of the caster levels.

as per this rule

Caster Level for Weapons: The caster level of a weapon with a special ability is given in the item description. For an item with only an enhancement bonus and no other abilities, the caster level is three times the enhancement bonus. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met.

but note you can ignore the caster level requirement when crafting/upgrading and Item by adding 5 to the DC of the crafting check.

That logic seems a little weird to me - that would mean that the caster level requirement to make a +3 sword would be 9, but the caster level requirement to make a +1 flaming sword (flaming being a +1 enchantment, so a total item enhancement for purposes of cost, etc. of +2) would be 10. Does that seem right to you?


Flaming doesn't have a caster level requirement.

Quote:
Moderate evocation; CL 10th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor and flame blade, flame strike, or fireball; Price +1 bonus.

Spell Storing does.

Quote:
Strong evocation (plus aura of stored spell); CL 12th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor, creator must be a caster of at least 12th level; Price +1 bonus.


Ansibelle wrote:
KainPen wrote:

Sunblade is a very specific item so you use the caster level listed in the box. Which is 10. actual a +1 Flaming sword requirement is Cl requirement is a 10. you take the great of of the caster levels.

as per this rule

Caster Level for Weapons: The caster level of a weapon with a special ability is given in the item description. For an item with only an enhancement bonus and no other abilities, the caster level is three times the enhancement bonus. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met.

but note you can ignore the caster level requirement when crafting/upgrading and Item by adding 5 to the DC of the crafting check.

That logic seems a little weird to me - that would mean that the caster level requirement to make a +3 sword would be 9, but the caster level requirement to make a +1 flaming sword (flaming being a +1 enchantment, so a total item enhancement for purposes of cost, etc. of +2) would be 10. Does that seem right to you?

It is a little strange, but it is true that special abilities often have higher Caster Level requirements than a simple enhancement bonus. You are in the Rules forum, so you will get a response concerning the rules. If you want to set custom caster levels that you think are more appropriate in your own home game, you are welcome to, but the rules in this case are clear. Look to the Caster Level of the item in the top of the section to set your base DC for creating the item, then look in the Construction Requirements. Add +5 to the DC for each requirement you do not meet.


Jeraa wrote:

Flaming doesn't have a caster level requirement.

Quote:
Moderate evocation; CL 10th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor and flame blade, flame strike, or fireball; Price +1 bonus.

Spell Storing does.

Quote:
Strong evocation (plus aura of stored spell); CL 12th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor, creator must be a caster of at least 12th level; Price +1 bonus.

actual flaming and it is 10, they all have a caster level, it is need to determine the save of said item, if left untended and it manged to get hit by fire ball ect.

PRD link

Flaming: Upon command, a flaming weapon is sheathed in fire that deals an extra 1d6 points of fire damage on a successful hit. The fire does not harm the wielder. The effect remains until another command is given.

Moderate evocation; CL 10th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor and flame blade, flame strike, or fireball; Price +1 bonus.

and to the OP yeah it is not very logical but that is the rule.

the fact that you can ignore level requirements at all much less single +5 increase to the DC does not make any sense.

a level 3 caster can make belts of +6 perfection with very little investment and take 10 and not having to worry about making a cursed item. it is amazing cursed items exist at all according the the crafting rules and how easy it is to not make one. only thing stopping a character from doing it is the money.


Quote:
actual flaming and it is 10, they all have a caster level, it is need to determine the save of said item, if left untended and it manged to get hit by fire ball ect.

I never said it didn't have a caster level. I said it doesn't have a caster level prerequisite. All prerequisites are listed in the item description, starting with the feats required. Flaming does not have a caster level prerequisite.

FAQ(Specifically about Pearl of Power, but applies here as well)

Quote:
Though the listed Caster Level for a pearl of power is 17th, that caster level is not part of the Requirements listing for that item. Therefore, the only caster level requirement for a pearl of power is the character has to be able to cast spells of the desired level.

It isn't a prerequisite unless it appears in the prerequisite location of the description.


There is some ambiguity here.

The CL of the enhancement bonus IS a requirement and you can only ignore it by adding +5 as per the rule that has been quoted in this thread.

Abilities like Flaming don't have a CL requirement, so it seems like you can safely ignore the CL when you make it. But the rule says " the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met".

We know we cannot bypass the first CL requirement (without raising the Spellcraft DC), but if we MUST use meet the higher requirement, does this then also mean that that becomes the new un-bypassable CL requirement?

In other words, a +1 Flaming sword has two CL requirements, the CL3 requirement for the enhancement bonus that you cannot bypass without raising the Spellcraft DC, and the CL 10 non-requirement for Flaming that you can just ignore - but if you take the higher of them, CL10, does it become a requirement now, so you must be CL 10 or raise the Spellcraft DC?


No. The CL 10 non-requirement is..... stop me if I'm going too fast.... not a requirement.


Orfamay Quest wrote:
No. The CL 10 non-requirement is..... stop me if I'm going too fast.... not a requirement.

I agree. But the weapon crafting rules say "you MUST use it" (if it's the higher one) which makes it sound like it is a new REQUIREMENT replacing the old REQUIREMENT.


Maybe I misunderstand the issue here but this is the line under Flaming.

Price +1 bonus; Aura moderate evocation; CL 10th; Weight —

This CL 10th isn't a requirement for enchanting. Its only used in the case of something like a dispel magic or some spell resistance roll.

Its only in the case of something like this

SPELL STORING
Price +1 bonus; Aura strong evocation; CL 12th; Weight —
(text deleted)
CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS
Cost +1 bonus
Craft Magic Arms and Armor, creator must be a caster of at least 12th level

Where in the construction requirements it lists a minimum CL that the enchanter's CL matters. And the generic caster must be 3 times the + enchantment bonus for arms and armor.

This line
If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met.

Would apply in the case of, let's say, platemail +5 with spell storing. In this case you have a minimum CL requirement of 15 (+5 enchantment X 3) as per the the enchantment bonus rule and a CL of 12 for the spell storing. And since you have to use the higher of the two, you use the CL 15. Now lets assume the armor somehow could also have full invulnerability enchant. That has a CL of 18, in the first line, but not under the Construction Requirement lines, and thus does not affect the CL to construct the item.

I hope this has been helpful and may have cleared up the other correct answers that were kind of split up and may have lead to some confusion.

The item creation feats do have some ambiguous rules.


The CL 10th isn't a requirement for enchanting, but it does set the roll requirement.

For the +1 Flaming weapon, the requirements are Craft Arms and Armor (must have); CL 3 (+1 weapon, but can be bypassed by adding 5); flame blade, flame strike, or fireball (can be bypassed by adding 5).

The roll required to make this item is 15 (5 + caster level of item (larger of 3 and 10)) + 5 * the amount of requirements bypassing.

A +5 weapon can be attempted at 5th level since the only solid requirement is the feat. The roll required is 25 (5 + CL 15 of item + 5 since you aren't 15th level).


The CL 10 is just the caster level of the item, but it is not a requirement for creating the item.

For purposes of magic weapon the special ability may have a requirement level, such as the spell storing ability which uses CL 12. Also to create a weapon of a certain enhancement you have to meet a certain caster level per the general magic weapon creation rules. If you are creating a weapon such as a +3 weapon which has a requirement of CL 9, then you would need CL 12 because the spell storing has a higher CL requirement.

If not requirement is in the prereq section then no caster level is required beyond those in the general magic weapon making rules.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

A standard sunblade is CL 10th. The actual minimum to make a weapon with all the sunblade's powers is 6th -- the higher of three times its +2 bonus (6th), and the minimum level for its prerequisite spell, daylight (5th, because it is a 3rd level spell).

It also has five unique qualities, so good luck pricing one that is not CL 10th.


Ansibelle wrote:
CBDunkerson wrote:

For existing items the caster level is always listed right at the top of the entry;

"Aura moderate evocation; CL 10th; Weight 2 lbs.; Price 50,335 gp"

As to how they got to 10th, that gets tricky with items that don't fit the simple pattern, but I'd guess that someone estimated it was about equivalent to a +5 weapon quality overall.

I don't think we can infer the special weapon caster level requirement from the CL of the item. A +1 Flaming sword would have a CL of 10, but a caster level requirement of only 3. (Though of course you couldn't even have the feat at 3rd level...)

Edit - Also, 10 doesn't work as an answer because the rule says we're multiplying by 3 to get there, and 10 isn't evenly divisible by 3.

Au contraire, I've recently discovered an Archetype that grants Craft Magic Arms and Armor at 3rd level, which is the Forgepriest Archetype of Warpriest. Which is surprising, though the best they'd be able to do is give a weapon/armor +1. As for how I read the Magic Arms and Armor feat, you would be able to give a +1 weapon/armor a +1 special quality at level 6, though I'm not certain how the DC would be calculated as far as CL goes for crafting. Which is why I'm looking at this thread.


The Sun Blade has this line:

Quote:
Construction Requirements: Craft Magic Arms and Armor, daylight, creator must be good

The feat requires CL 5

The spell is 3rd, and neds CL 5
The description mentions:
Quote:
In normal combat, the glowing golden Blade of the weapon is equal to a +2 bastard sword. Against evil creatures, its enhancement bonus is +4. Against Negative Energy Plane creatures or undead creatures, the sword deals double damage (and ×3 on a critical hit instead of the usual ×2).

The +2 requires CL 6

While +4 is mentioned, it is not always on, so may not be a normal requirement, but perhaps more like the Bane property.

From the above, you must be at least CL 6.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Caster level required to create a sunblade? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions