| JaysonOl |
In my first run through ever on this game, I got confused with how to deal with a two contradictory card texts during Pillage & Plunder.
I encountered the Henchmen 'Enemy Ship' whose texts read: "Summon & encounter a random ship....If the summoned ship is defeated, you may seize it."
I summoned the Class 6 'Dominator' whose text reads "This ship cannot be seized."...so does it go back into the box if defeated?
Part 2: Anyway, I did not defeat it, so Henchmen 'Enemy Ship' gets reshuffled into current location deck. When I encounter that card again, is it a new random ship, or is it the Dominator again? (I placed it back in the box when I did not defeat it the first time).
| skizzerz |
If a card and this rulebook are ever in conflict, the card should be considered correct. There is one exception to this: When the rulebook uses the word “never,” no card can overrule it. If cards conflict with one another, then Adventure Path cards overrule adventures, adventures overrule scenarios, scenarios overrule locations, locations overrule support cards, support cards overrule characters, and characters overrule other card types. Despite this hierarchy, if one card tells that you cannot do something and another card tells you that you can, comply with the card that tells you that you cannot; if a card tells you to ignore something, the thing you’re ignoring never has any effect. If a card instructs you to do something impossible, like draw a card from an empty deck, ignore that instruction.
1. The ship tells you that it cannot be seized, and the henchman says it can. We are told that if that happens, the thing that says it cannot be done wins out. As a result, you cannot seize the Dominator. If defeated, it is returned to the box per normal.
2. It is a new random ship. Contrast this with the barrier Pirate Hunting where it is the same ship each time, and it is explicit in telling you that.
Vic Wertz
Chief Technical Officer
|
If you're wondering *why* it's a new random ship, see this bit from page 29:
Cards Don’t Have Memories. Cards forget they’ve been played after
they’ve done whatever they do. So if you reveal an item to reduce
damage dealt before an encounter, you can reveal that item again
during the encounter. A monster isn’t affected by anything you did
in a previous encounter with it. Even though you’ve played a card to
explore again, after that exploration you can play another. Don’t ask
your cards to remember what happened, because they’re just cards.
So just as a monster isn’t affected by anything you did in a previous encounter with it, this barrier isn't affected by anything you did in a previous encounter with it.