Regarding Trip and Prone


Rules Questions


Hello,

I've got 2 questions regarding Prone and multiple regarding Trip.

Prone:
If someone is Prone they get a -4 to AC, do they also get a -4 to CMD?

Is a creature that is Prone able to use AoO?

Trip:
Now lets say a creature is prone and I'm standing next to it. It tries to get up and I decide to use my AoO on that action (standing up from Prone is a move action that provokes AoO.) I decide to Trip it. (Trip is a Melee Attack, and AoO allows any Melee Attack.) I do not have Improved Trip (Which means if I perform a Trip I provoke an AoO.)
If a Prone creature can make an AoO the following happens: He does an AoO on me, I do an AoO(Which is Trip) on him, and he tries to get up.

If I succeed in my AoO, does he still get up?
If he does an AoO on me, does he get -4 on his Melee Attack roll due to being Prone even though it is during his movement to get up?
If his AoO is also a Trip attempt and it succeeds, do I get a -4 on my CMB? (Prone creatures get -4 on Melee Attack rolls)

Cheers,
Sorrol


The AoO trip interrupts the foe's getting up. So they are still prone when his AoO attack hits you at -4, interrupting your trip.

Grand Lodge

Prone:
From the PRD:
Any penalties to a creature's AC also apply to its CMD.
So, yes, the -4 to AC against melee attacks also applies to CMD against melee maneuvers.
Note: Against ranged maneuvers (Fighter Archer, for example) that +4 to AC is also a +4 to CMD for this purpose.

On AoOs:
Yes, if they are wielding a weapon with which they could take AoOs when standing, they also get to take an AoO when prone. Note that the -4 to attacking when prone will also apply to AoOs made when prone.

Tripping a prone target:
From the FAQ
Trip: When a prone character stands up and provokes an attack of opportunity, can I use that attack to trip the character again?
No. The attack of opportunity is triggered before the action that triggered it is resolved. In this case, the target is still prone when the attack of opportunity occurs (and you get the normal bonuses when making such an attack). Since the trip combat maneuver does not prevent the target's action, the target then stands up.


If you want to really be a dick with combat maneuvers, get improved trip and improved disarm and combat reflexes.

1) Trip them.
2) They stand up, provoking. Use the AoO to disarm them.
3) They pick up their weapon, provoking. Use the AoO to trip them. They just used two move actions and have accomplished nothing, wasting their turn.
4) Repeat.


Quote:
If someone is Prone they get a -4 to AC, do they also get a -4 to CMD?

YES

Quote:
Is a creature that is Prone able to use AoO?

YES

Quote:

Now lets say a creature is prone and I'm standing next to it. It tries to get up and I decide to use my AoO on that action (standing up from Prone is a move action that provokes AoO.) I decide to Trip it. (Trip is a Melee Attack, and AoO allows any Melee Attack.) I do not have Improved Trip (Which means if I perform a Trip I provoke an AoO.)

If a Prone creature can make an AoO the following happens: He does an AoO on me, I do an AoO(Which is Trip) on him, and he tries to get up.

You can't trip a prone creature since it's already prone, but if you were to use a different maneuver, such as disarm, it would be as you say:

He does an AoO on you, you do an AoO on him, and he tries to get up.
Quote:
If I succeed in my AoO, does he still get up?

YES

Quote:
If he does an AoO on me, does he get -4 on his Melee Attack roll due to being Prone even though it is during his movement to get up?

YES

Quote:
If his AoO is also a Trip attempt and it succeeds, do I get a -4 on my CMB? (Prone creatures get -4 on Melee Attack rolls)

YES

Grand Lodge

CampinCarl9127 wrote:

If you want to really be a dick with combat maneuvers, get improved trip and improved disarm and combat reflexes.

1) Trip them.
2) They stand up, provoking. Use the AoO to disarm them.
3) They pick up their weapon, provoking. Use the AoO to trip them. They just used two move actions and have accomplished nothing, wasting their turn.
4) Repeat.

Make that Greater Trip, and it gets even sicker.

Trip. Greater Trip means you get to take an AoO on them.
Disarm. Prone, no weapon.
Finish your attack sequence with a +4 bonus against the prone target.

Their turn: prone, no weapon in hand.
Stand? AoO for damage.
Pick up weapon? If prone, AoO for damage, if standing AoO for Trip, which can get you another AoO on them for damage.

I have a PC build which does this. I have a GM who won't run for this build, and built a different kind of PC to "punish" me for having this build.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Regarding Trip and Prone All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions