Voracious Blade feat


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

The subject feat from Inner Sea Monster Codex goes as per the following:

Feat:
Voracious Blade (Combat)
You can channel your daemonic energies through the vile
blade you wield.
Prerequisites: Weapon Focus (rhoka sword), base attack
bonus +4, urdefhan.
Benefit: When wielding a rhoka sword, you can channel
your daemonic energies through the blade as a swift
action, causing it to deal Strength damage as your bite
attack. You can use this ability a number of times per day
equal to your Constitution modifier (minimum 1).

Does this mean you deal STR in addition to your rhoka sword's damage? is the STR damage equal to your bite damage? (your modified bite damage i.e. with STR bonus or not?) Finally, does this last only for one attack, or for one round? (i.e. full attacking with STR damage on each swing)


You do not do +STR damage.
It means your hits take hp, and some of the oponent's strength away.
The amount of damage you do to your oponent's strength is the same you'd do if he sufered your bite.

There is no stated duration, so I'd go with the most conservative reading and say it only works for one attack per use.

Sovereign Court

Thanks Efreeti. Looks like a very good feat especially if the build uses high CON. If your bite is 1d4 as base die (unmodified before adding STR), then this feat deals STR dmg with one rhoka sword swing to the amount of 1d4 STR dmg. Got it!

Since it's a swift action to activate I'm gonna assume a BBEG would use this at the highest iterative attack when doing full attack routine. The swift action activation is probably to prevent multiple use per round which could completely obliterate an opponent in the first round...

Sovereign Court

...now the logical follow up is: how can one boost its bite damage, and would that even boost the STR dmg dealt by this feat? (i.e. was the intent to pin that STR dmg forever more to that of a creature of that size)

I could see a DM rule that Improved Natural Attack (bite) is just gonna make your mouth bigger or fangs sharper, but will have absolutely no bearing on how you "channel daemonic forces through your sword."


It doesn't do strength damage equal to your bite attack damage. It does strength damage equal to the strength damage your bite attack normally inflicts. It doesn't matter how big your bite attack is, it only matters how much strength damage your bite attack inflicts. Which, for Urdefhans, is always 2 strength damage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Voracious Blade feat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.