Can a Multiclass hunter / wizard cast Shillelagh on his bonded item Quarter staff?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Can a Multi-class hunter/wizard cast Shillelagh on his bonded item Quarter staff? Or, in other words, Is the bonded item quarter staff of a wizard considered "magic" for the purposes of determining if the druid/hunter spell shillelagh can affect the staff.

In the spell Shillelagh it states, "any non-magical staff" etc etc is under the effects of the spell. Which means it does not work on a magical staff, however, at 1st or even 3rd level, if my staff is still just a masterwork staff and It's my bonded item, can I cast shillelagh on it when I take a level in hunter or druid?


It seems to me that the bonded special properties originate from the wizard, not the object, thus meaning that the object itself is non-magical. This is similar to how a wizard might cast a spell using a non-magical item as a focus component of the spell.


If you hand the staff to someone else, can they use its bonded powers? Nope. So I'd agree with Byakko and say it's not magical. Just remember it still has to be oak.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Multiclass hunter / wizard cast Shillelagh on his bonded item Quarter staff? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions