How would you handle a Bag of Devouring chomping down on a GraveKnight?


Advice


Hello all,
First, this is a home game and I very much stand by the 'Rule of Cool' and like players to think outside of the box. Also what has happened has happened and if I missed a rule and it wasn't supposed, such is life but there is no retconning.

I have an (what I believe anyway) interesting situation involving players using a Bag of Devouring to defeat a GraveKnight [GK].

A Ranger in the party got on to a ledge above the GK, and readied an action to Jump down and put the bag on the GK head.
The Ranger succeeded and the GK is sucked in.

Here is where I need advice, the bag destroys the body of what it eats and AFAIK spits out the inorganic matter so all the armor. No the armor is what the regenerative abilities are based on.

Is is unfair of me to keep this GK as a recurring villain or should I rule him out?

As always thank you for your input.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

The armor is intact, so the GK should be able to regenerate.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Rejuvenation (Su)

One day after a graveknight is destroyed, its armor begins to rebuild the undead horror's body. This process takes 1d10 days—if the body is destroyed before that time passes, the armor merely starts the process anew. After this time has elapsed, the graveknight wakens fully healed.

If you don't destroy the armor you don't destroy the Graveknight. He's coming back given your scenario.

However I don't see anything in the description of the Bag of Devouring that would lead me to believe they it spits out inorganics. In fact the description reads "this intelligent cursed item believes it is the favored maw and most important appendage of a fabled creature it refers to as the Eater of All" All means all in my book.

So IMO there is nothing left. No loot, not armor, no nothing. It's all gone, down into the stomach of the Eater of All.... or wherever it really goes.


I agree with the paladin, the GK regenerates on some other plane. Whether or not he makes his way back to the material plane and whether or not he seeks revenge is entirely up to the GM.

But, I advise not allowing this to be so easy next time. I would't allow players to put anyone into a bag of devouring/holding unless they are helpless - just dropping down onto a victim to make them go away and be permanently consumed is a MASSIVE work around to avoid combat entirely without every drawing a weapon or risking an injury. In other words, it trivializes just about EVERY combat encounter that isn't an enemy too big for the bag. But if the PCs must at least find a way to make the enemy helpless before doing it, then at least they have to deal with the encounter before they trivialize it.

Now that you've let it happen once, expect the players to try it all the time and trivialize a bunch of your encounters. Or put a stop to it by saying it was a fluke and won't happen again (talk it over with the players and let them know why).

Just my two bits.


Thanks for the input everyone.

@Adagna
There is a 5% cumulative chance what is in the bag can be spit out on another plane.

@DM_Blake
The GK had dropped 2 party members who were bait for the Ranger's set up, and the bag failed to swallow in the first attempt. The players also failed to declare anyone picked the bag back up before they left so I am going to be holding them to that.
I also talked with them about the cheese factor and now that the enemies know this capability there will be new tactics like incorporeal/ranged/casters.

The GK night was a champion of the enemy, so u feel like spending the resources for a wish/miracle to get him back is feesible


I don't think I'd have let the graveknight be devoured in the first place; the text of the bag does at one point specify *living* flesh, which the graveknight definitely does not qualify as.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

*BUUUUURP*

Next question, please.


Ian Bell wrote:
I don't think I'd have let the graveknight be devoured in the first place; the text of the bag does at one point specify *living* flesh, which the graveknight definitely does not qualify as.

No, you seem to be misreading that.

First it says:

SRD, Bag of Devouring wrote:
Any substance of animal or vegetable nature is subject to “swallowing'' if thrust within the bag. The bag of devouring is 90% likely to ignore any initial intrusion

So the bag ignores the graveknight.

SRD, Bag of Devouring wrote:
but anytime thereafter that it senses living flesh within (such as if someone reaches into the bag to pull something out), it is 60% likely to close around the offending member and attempt to draw the whole victim in.

This part talks about living creatures who stick their flesh into the bag, like reaching into it. If so, the bag will grab them and try to swallow them into the bag.

Not applicable to our graveknight; he's not reaching into the bag because he's already in the bag.

SRD, Bag of Devouring wrote:
each hour it has a 5% cumulative chance of swallowing the contents and then spitting the stuff out in some nonspace or on some other plane.

This is how the armor gets spit out on some other plane. But what happens to the graveknight's bones?

SRD, Bag of Devouring wrote:
Creatures drawn within are consumed in 1 round. The bag destroys the victim's body and prevents any form of raising or resurrection that requires part of the corpse.

If an ordinary human can be consumed so that even his bones are gone (nothing left that could count as part of the corpse which includes no bones being left), then I would imagine that if JUST bones are put in there, they'd be consumed too.

So our graveknight's bones are consumed, his armor is spit out, and none of this has anything to do with any living flesh/creature reaching into the bag and being "drawn in" (swallowed) by the bag.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Idea: have the armor be spat out onto the abyss, and it is found by some hapless demon, possibly a succubus or incubus or other medium-sized, human-shaped creature, who puts it on and is gradually absorbed into the graveknight, but the GK gains the abilities of the demon by doing so. So now it's not just a GK antipaladin 10 or whatever, now it's a GK succubus antipaladin 10.


Paladin of Baha-who? wrote:
Idea: have the armor be spat out onto the abyss, and it is found by some hapless demon, possibly a succubus or incubus or other medium-sized, human-shaped creature, who puts it on and is gradually absorbed into the graveknight, but the GK gains the abilities of the demon by doing so. So now it's not just a GK antipaladin 10 or whatever, now it's a GK succubus antipaladin 10.

That is just too cool to pass up! :D


DM_Blake wrote:
Ian Bell wrote:
I don't think I'd have let the graveknight be devoured in the first place; the text of the bag does at one point specify *living* flesh, which the graveknight definitely does not qualify as.

No, you seem to be misreading that.

First it says:

SRD, Bag of Devouring wrote:
Any substance of animal or vegetable nature is subject to “swallowing'' if thrust within the bag. The bag of devouring is 90% likely to ignore any initial intrusion

So the bag ignores the graveknight.

SRD, Bag of Devouring wrote:
but anytime thereafter that it senses living flesh within (such as if someone reaches into the bag to pull something out), it is 60% likely to close around the offending member and attempt to draw the whole victim in.

This part talks about living creatures who stick their flesh into the bag, like reaching into it. If so, the bag will grab them and try to swallow them into the bag.

Not applicable to our graveknight; he's not reaching into the bag because he's already in the bag.

SRD, Bag of Devouring wrote:
each hour it has a 5% cumulative chance of swallowing the contents and then spitting the stuff out in some nonspace or on some other plane.

This is how the armor gets spit out on some other plane. But what happens to the graveknight's bones?

SRD, Bag of Devouring wrote:
Creatures drawn within are consumed in 1 round. The bag destroys the victim's body and prevents any form of raising or resurrection that requires part of the corpse.

If an ordinary human can be consumed so that even his bones are gone (nothing left that could count as part of the corpse which includes no bones being left), then I would imagine that if JUST bones are put in there, they'd be consumed too.

So our graveknight's bones are consumed, his armor is spit out, and none of this has anything to do with any living flesh/creature reaching into the bag and being "drawn in" (swallowed) by the bag.

Sure, but per the original story, only the graveknight's head was in the bag. Maybe I missed something else.


The rule of cool and fun won out over if an undead would be eaten. I really like the idea of something else finding and inhabiting the armor and becoming part of the GraveKnight.

Thanks everyone for the input.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / How would you handle a Bag of Devouring chomping down on a GraveKnight? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice
Mythic Feat