Resuming regeneration


Rules Questions


A player told me today that once the troll was hit by fire, it stops regeneration completely.

I was under the impression that when hit by fire it only stopped regeneration for it's next turn. After that, regeneration resumed so long as he did not take any more fire damage.

Which is correct?


Your player was incorrect.

From the Universal Monster Rules:

Quote:
Regeneration (Ex) A creature with this ability is difficult to kill. Creatures with regeneration heal damage at a fixed rate, as with fast healing, but they cannot die as long as their regeneration is still functioning (although creatures with regeneration still fall unconscious when their hit points are below 0). Certain attack forms, typically fire and acid, cause a creature's regeneration to stop functioning on the round following the attack. During this round, the creature does not heal any damage and can die normally. The creature's descriptive text describes the types of damage that cause the regeneration to cease functioning.

Unless some effect changes this, assume that any cessation of regeneration only lasts for one turn.


That's what I thought. Thanks for the quick affirmation Rednal!


Though if you set the troll on fire and it stays on fire, its regeneration stays gone. Or if you Acid Arrow it.


Yep, stops it for a round.

Unless it's already "dead" and regenerating (i.e. it's HP is lower than -10-CON modifier). Then it just dies.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Resuming regeneration All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions