How does Agathion Eidolons, Lay on Hands Items, and this Bracelet interact?


Rules Questions


Hey folks,

So just curious, both how these interact RAW and how might you suggest [if at all] house ruling it if terms are unclear.

Agathion Eidolons receive Lay on Hands as a Paladin of their HD. Sadly this doesn't grant them the Mercies, so they don't qualify for greater mercy or ultimate mercy.

Then comes this item;
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/a-b/brace let-of-mercy

The item states the wearer is considered to have the disease mercy. So my question is; Does the Eidolon now have a mercy, thus qualifying for feats like greater or ultimate mercy?

What you folks think?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

I would say it does, with the caveat that if the bracelets are lost or destroyed you lose access to the feats.


The feats specifically call out having the mercy class feature, not just having a mercy, so I am inclined to say by RAW the answer is no. But I would probably allow it at my table with the caveat given above.


CampinCarl9127 wrote:
The feats specifically call out having the mercy class feature, not just having a mercy, so I am inclined to say by RAW the answer is no.

Threadly reminder that whit this "verbatim" interpretation most likely Paladins are the only ones who can take the Turn Undead feat


Entryhazard wrote:
CampinCarl9127 wrote:
The feats specifically call out having the mercy class feature, not just having a mercy, so I am inclined to say by RAW the answer is no.
Threadly reminder that whit this "verbatim" interpretation most likely Paladins are the only ones who can take the Turn Undead feat

...what? I don't even understand this line of logic. Why would a cleric not be able to take the turn undead feat? Or any other class that grants positive channeling?


CampinCarl9127 wrote:
...what? I don't even understand this line of logic. Why would a cleric not be able to take the turn undead feat? Or any other class that grants positive channeling?

Because the feats requires "Channel Positive Energy Class Feature" and only the Paladin has a class feature called "Channel Positive Energy". Clerics can channel positive energy, but their class feature is called "Channel Energy", Life Oracles have "Channel" and so on

Grand Lodge

Entryhazard wrote:
CampinCarl9127 wrote:
...what? I don't even understand this line of logic. Why would a cleric not be able to take the turn undead feat? Or any other class that grants positive channeling?
Because the feats requires "Channel Positive Energy Class Feature" and only the Paladin has a class feature called "Channel Positive Energy". Clerics can channel positive energy, but their class feature is called "Channel Energy", Life Oracles have "Channel" and so on

And the creature in question has none of the above. Not even a renamed copy of any of he above.

The Paladin's ability is very similar to the cleric's save that it does not have uses per day but is powered by the uses of another class feature, spending lay on hands, something that can trip extreme literalist readers.


...except the cleric gets it as a class feature. You misunderstand my words.

The only thing overly literal is how you read my statement.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How does Agathion Eidolons, Lay on Hands Items, and this Bracelet interact? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.