Entangled, Somatic components and Force Ward


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Hello. As I continue playing with my kineticist I was unfortunae enough to contact with a tanglefoot bag flying right in my face. So here is my questions about it:

1. Entangled says I must use concentration check to cast. But what if I don`t use any somatic components, so basically entangle doesn`t affect my casting? (If not for blasts the same problem for still spell)

2. Does Force Ward work only for attacks that deal damage?

Designer

1) You still need to make a concentration check.

2) Yes. Just like DR negates added effects of damaging attacks but not, say, a spider's non-damaging web.


Yes you still have to concentrate. Concentration is supposed to represent your attention being diverted, not physical impediment. If it were actually physically impeding you to the extreme of obstructing hand gestures, then you just wouldn't be able to cast at all if you needed somatic components, not a concentration check (example: paralysis).

In other words, presumably the tanglefoot bag is slowing you down in terms of large scale bodily motion, but not to the point where you can't even gesture. It's also, separately, freaking you out / surprising you / etc., requiring willful concentration.


Is force ward a force effect?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Entangled, Somatic components and Force Ward All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions