Word Casters and Crafting


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I've got a character idea I've been tinkering with for a friend's Serpent's Skull campaign. The idea is a wordcasting sorcerer who's lived all their life in the wilderness. This character for backstory occasionally heads in to town and sells things that were made, or sells to traveling adventurers she encounters. These things are belts, headbands, and bracers which those who buy them swear must be magic. They are.

So my question is this: Does the Enhance Form word allow you to craft belts of strength, dex, con, and physical might without extra crafting DC, or do you still have to add +5 to the DC for each of the spells missing?

If it's the second case, would upgrading a Belt of Strength +2 to include Dex +2 or Con +2 have a +5 DC, or +10 DC? This would make a huge difference in what is crafted to sell (and provide at discount to party). After all, the character is careful and doesn't try to push the envelope much. A reputation for making cursed items would NOT be good.

I'm well aware this character wouldn't be Pathfinder Society legal. But then the campaign isn't for pathfinder society.

Dark Archive

Hello? Anyone have an answer to these questions?

Grand Lodge

So assuming that the required spells would be on your class spell list (so bull strength, cat's grace, etc) then so long as you expend an equal level spell slot when crafting the item, the DC would raise by +2 per spell substituted.

In the rules for Word Casting it is suggested that crafting magic items on a word caster is more difficult, but possible. In this case Bull's Strength, Cat's grace, Bear's endurance are all on your spell list (sorcerer) so you can expend 2nd level spell slots while crafting to "substitute" words for the spells required. +2 instead of +5 managable.

So assuming you are a level 8 sorcerer with craft wondrous items, you can craft a belt of giant strength with a DC of 7. 5 base +2 for substituting a spell for bull strength.

Dark Archive

So if I named my wordcrafted spells "Bulls Strength", "Cat's Grace", and "Bear's Endurance" there's no additional DC. But if I named the wordcrafted spells "Surge of Health", "Surge of Strength", and "Surge of Agility" then add +2 to the DC of the crafting check per substituted spell?

This would then make it DC 15 to make a Belt of Mighty Constitution +2 with "Surge of Health" (+4 constitution). That's CL 8, 5 from crafting, 2 from substituting a spell?

Dark Archive

Okay, another question about crafting using word casting. Let's say I have a level 3 word spell I call Tesla Burn (burst burning flash shock arc). Could I create a wand or staff that casts this spell? And if I do, could any wizard/sorcerer use it or only wordcasters?


Daniel Myhre wrote:

So if I named my wordcrafted spells "Bulls Strength", "Cat's Grace", and "Bear's Endurance" there's no additional DC. But if I named the wordcrafted spells "Surge of Health", "Surge of Strength", and "Surge of Agility" then add +2 to the DC of the crafting check per substituted spell?

This would then make it DC 15 to make a Belt of Mighty Constitution +2 with "Surge of Health" (+4 constitution). That's CL 8, 5 from crafting, 2 from substituting a spell?

What matters is the classes spell list, not what you name your wordcrafted spells. So a wordcraft sorcerer uses the sorcerer list for crafting prerequisites.

Quote:
Okay, another question about crafting using word casting. Let's say I have a level 3 word spell I call Tesla Burn (burst burning flash shock arc). Could I create a wand or staff that casts this spell? And if I do, could any wizard/sorcerer use it or only wordcasters?

Wand, yes. Staffs don't seem to be mentioned, and might not be available for wordspells. In order to use a wand, the spell must appear on your class list. Normal wizard/sorcerers don't use wordspells, so probably can't use a wand of a wordspell.

Dark Archive

Thanks again. I really need to read that section again before I commit to playing this character as anything beyond an npc wandering merchant.

EDIT: Huh, according to this I don't need to (for example) actually know the Enhance Form word to make a belt of mighty constitution, just be able to cast a level 2 wordspell. At which point it's +2 to the crafting DC, so 7+caster level of the item. Well, and have the spell on the normal spell list or add +5 to the DC instead (for 10+caster level of item). Still not too bad, unless you're excessively reckless with your crafting or have an absurdly low spellcraft for a crafter.

Grand Lodge

Totally forgot to add the caster level of the item.

Yep, doesn't matter what word spell you craft with, only the spell level.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Word Casters and Crafting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions