Spell Combat and Maintaining a Spell


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

The spell combat magus feature refers to spells with a casting time of a standard action, but not their duration.

If you are a magus that can cast a spell that has a longer duration that requires concentration to maintain, is the maintenance standard action compatible with spell combat?


Spell Combat doesn't change anything about the spell, it just allows you to make a full attack while you cast it. So all of the rules for maintaining concentration still apply. Did you have specific spell in mind?

Sovereign Court

I didn't mean to imply that spell combat some how changes the spell or that there is an exception to the rules of concentration here. My question was if I can use Spell Combat to maintain a spell cast in a previous turn as you would have when initially casting the spell in spell combat full-round actions.

I am referring to a magus who added Strangling Hair to her magus spell list. It has a casting time of a standard action and a duration maintained through concentration.

My question is: Is maintaining a spell through concentration considered the same as casting a spell? Is maintaining and casting spells the same for the purpose of spell combat?


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I see. No, there isn't any wording that allows us to use Spell Combat to maintain a spell. Maintaining and casting are two different things.

It would be neat if they made an Arcana that allowed it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Combat and Maintaining a Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions