| Delenot |
In my last session my Eidolon was grappled by a giant centipede. My Eidolon has several natural attacks in addition to a two handed weapon. I understand that you cannot make any attack that requires two hands while grappled, but what about it's natural attacks?
Could the Eidolon make a natural attack while grappled? If so, how many? (I think there is a -2 penalty to the attack?)
Edit: (Please try to site books and page numbers to any rules info)
| Matthew Downie |
You can do anything while grappled that isn't specifically restricted by the grappled condition. (Page 567.)
"A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform."
There is some ambiguity about what "an action that requires two hands to perform" should include.
(Discussed here.)
A reasonable interpretation is that one limb is immobilized - so if you have two claw attacks you can only use one, plus bites, etc.
Note that the -2 penalty is normally cancelled out by the fact that you're attacking the creature grappling you, which also has the grappled condition, which reduces AC by the same amount.
| DM_Blake |
Yes, you can make all your natural attacks while grappled. You are correct about the -2 penalty on the attack rolls (and also a -4 penalty on DEX which can cause additional attack penalties to any attack roll that uses DEX instead of STR).
If you are grappled, you can attempt to break the grapple as a standard action by making a combat maneuver check (DC equal to your opponent's CMD; this does not provoke an attack of opportunity) or Escape Artist check (with a DC equal to your opponent's CMD). If you succeed, you break the grapple and can act normally. Alternatively, if you succeed, you can become the grappler, grappling the other creature (meaning that the other creature cannot freely release the grapple without making a combat maneuver check, while you can). Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn’t require two hands to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you. See the grappled condition for additional details. If you are pinned, your actions are very limited. See the pinned condition in Conditions for additional details.
| DM_Blake |
You can do anything while grappled that isn't specifically restricted by the grappled condition. (Page 567.)
"A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform."
There is some ambiguity about what "an action that requires two hands to perform" should include.
(Discussed here.)
A reasonable interpretation is that one limb is immobilized - so if you have two claw attacks you can only use one, plus bites, etc.Note that the -2 penalty is normally cancelled out by the fact that you're attacking the creature grappling you, which also has the grappled condition, which reduces AC by the same amount.
Technically, it never says you have a pinned arm, and it does say you can take a full attack, so that should allow every attack with all of your arms, as long as you don't make a 2H attack or do anything else that requires two hands simultaneously. Yes, I know there's debate, so the only good answer is to ask your GM.
Also, while it's true that the -2 attack penalty is canceled out by the grappled opponent's -4 DEX penalty, it's important to apply them separately rather than just assume they cancel out. Your opponent might somehow not even be using DEX for his AC due to some weird ability, or might be able to ignore this penalty due to some weird ability, or whatever. In any case, the GM should be reducing the creature's AC during the grapple, so if you don't also reduce your attack roll because you assume it's canceled out, then you have an unfair advantage, so it's always best to apply the penalty without assuming there's no need because they cancel out.
Nefreet
|
According to Jason Bulmahn, one "hand" is essentially unavailable.
If your Eidolon had 4 claw attacks, it can make 3 of them when Grappled.
Jason was clarifying how we should read the Grapple rules.
| Delenot |
On a side note, what kind of giant centipede grapples? It's just not fair. It could grapple you with 50 legs tied behind its back...
Probably the only response is to trip it...
j/k
It was a custom creature with a template applied to it. What I know of its abilities is as follows.
AC: 22Touch AC: 2
CMD: low 40s
DR 10 / ?
Can grapple 2 targets simultaneously
Can swallow whole.
Aprox 80-100 hp
Tremor sense
Scent
Geared for party of 5 lvl 10
It grappled my Eidolon and the only options open to me was to either EA check, try to control the grapple, or one natural attack. The table was quickly confused about grappling and that was the on the fly ruling to save time. As my GM is open to correction I wanted to be sure I not only understood grappling, but could site pages so he could research it easily himself.