Drums, Rods and spells oh my


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Playing a drum is a move action.
Does a wizard need a hand free to cast a spell?
1. Can a wizard play a drum and cast a spell?
2. Can a wizard play his magical drums and use a rod to cast a spell?

Grand Lodge

I Know silly but is it viable?


You need to be a lot more specific. What kind of drums are you even talking about? Your question is too vague to be answered. Please link relevant abilities and rules.


Looks tough. The Goblin Fire Drum doesn't exlicitly state the number of hands required, but from my personal experience with a wide range of drums, absent very dedicated showmanship training, all kinds of drumming requires both hands.

The Goblin Fire Drum is fairly small, a hand-beaten bongo style drum. Beating it with a 5-pound rod does not seem feasible.

So, you need both hands for the drumming during your move action, and you need your rod in your hand during your standard action spellcasting. That means you need a way to get your rod into your hand as a free or swift action (or more hands). Quickdraw should work, IMO, or a Glove of Storing. The game lacks rules for receiving an item that an assistant stands ready to hand over.


Perhaps if you use the rod as a drumstick....


Casual Viking wrote:

Looks tough. The Goblin Fire Drum doesn't exlicitly state the number of hands required, but from my personal experience with a wide range of drums, absent very dedicated showmanship training, all kinds of drumming requires both hands.

The Goblin Fire Drum is fairly small, a hand-beaten bongo style drum. Beating it with a 5-pound rod does not seem feasible.

So, you need both hands for the drumming during your move action, and you need your rod in your hand during your standard action spellcasting. That means you need a way to get your rod into your hand as a free or swift action (or more hands). Quickdraw should work, IMO, or a Glove of Storing. The game lacks rules for receiving an item that an assistant stands ready to hand over.

Rick Allen would disagree with you.

/cevah


Cevah wrote:
Casual Viking wrote:

Looks tough. The Goblin Fire Drum doesn't exlicitly state the number of hands required, but from my personal experience with a wide range of drums, absent very dedicated showmanship training, all kinds of drumming requires both hands.

The Goblin Fire Drum is fairly small, a hand-beaten bongo style drum. Beating it with a 5-pound rod does not seem feasible.

So, you need both hands for the drumming during your move action, and you need your rod in your hand during your standard action spellcasting. That means you need a way to get your rod into your hand as a free or swift action (or more hands). Quickdraw should work, IMO, or a Glove of Storing. The game lacks rules for receiving an item that an assistant stands ready to hand over.

Rick Allen would disagree with you.

/cevah

And you don't think he trained long and hard for the specific feat of one-handed drumming?

As I was saying, I know one-handed drummers exist.

Grand Lodge

Thank you everyone who responded. Yes it was a goblin fire drum

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Drums, Rods and spells oh my All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions