Movement During a Villain Encounter


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


In the FAQ it states that you cannot attempt to close a location you are not at. See FAQ here .

Does this ruling apply to the following rule from the Wraith of the Righteous rule book

Wraith Rule Book page 17 wrote:
If you Defeat the Villain, Close the Villain's Location

If you are moved during a villain encounter and still defeat the villain, does the villain's location close?

Specific Example
During the Fallen Fane, Alain encounters the villain Zanedra and Svennarobeth. The Villain states that

Zanedra and Svennarobeth wrote:
Before you act, a random character at your location must summon and defeat a random monster from the box...

Alain was the only character at his location, so he encounters the monster from the box

Alain drew a Mist Horror. The Mist Horror states that

Mist Horror wrote:
After you act, shuffle this card into a random location, then move to a random open location.

Alain defeated the Mist Horror and was moved to a random open location. This location was not the location he encountered the Villain at. He then finishes his encounter with the Villain, successfully defeating them. What happens?


In the case of defeating a villain, you are not ATTEMPTING to close a location, you just close it (you do not have to do the closing conditions). So the "You can never attempt to close a location unless your character is at that location." rule doesn't apply.

At least that's how we understand it ... but then Hawkmoon will maybe correct me.

This said, IMHO the FAQ question should be worded "Can you ATTEMPT to close a location you are not at". Or the text of the FAQ should be extended to cover both cases.


I'd say the same thing as Frencois.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Movement During a Villain Encounter All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion