Exchanging Spells... Kinda (sorcerer)


Rules Questions


So I'm planning out a character for an upcoming high level campaign.
When I level up to 19 I would normally gain a third level 8 spell. However, looking through the spell list and knowing what the rest of my team can do, I don't really want any of those spells.
Is there any rule that would let me learn a level 5 spell in place of learning another 8th level spell?

Grand Lodge

Renarin Kholin wrote:

So I'm planning out a character for an upcoming high level campaign.

When I level up to 19 I would normally gain a third level 8 spell. However, looking through the spell list and knowing what the rest of my team can do, I don't really want any of those spells.
Is there any rule that would let me learn a level 5 spell in place of learning another 8th level spell?

Absolutely. when it's time for you to learn spells you can choose to take a lower level spell and put it in that slot for spells known. Note that save DC's are calculated for the spell's actual level.


ok, thanks!

Scarab Sages

In fact, you might have to do so if you did not have a high enough CHA to cast spells of that level.


LazarX wrote:
Renarin Kholin wrote:

So I'm planning out a character for an upcoming high level campaign.

When I level up to 19 I would normally gain a third level 8 spell. However, looking through the spell list and knowing what the rest of my team can do, I don't really want any of those spells.
Is there any rule that would let me learn a level 5 spell in place of learning another 8th level spell?
Absolutely. when it's time for you to learn spells you can choose to take a lower level spell and put it in that slot for spells known. Note that save DC's are calculated for the spell's actual level.

Rules citation for this? I'm not finding anything that indicates if it is or is not allowed.


EDIT: This was incorrect, see the following replies. :)

Check the prd page on 'Magic', subsection on 'Arcane Spells':

Quote:
Spell Slots: The various character class tables show how many spells of each level a character can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be his due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower levels.


Spell slots are not spells known. Doesn't apply.


DominusMegadeus wrote:
Spell slots are not spells known. Doesn't apply.

Sorry, misread the question -- you appear to be correct -- in which case, is the above (learning a lower level spell in place of a higher level one) actually possible, and does anyone have a rules citation for it? I'm not seeing anything about it in the section on magic, the section on ability scores, or in the Sorcerer class description.


For a sorcerer? No. They have a fixed table of spells known. Wizards can learn any level they are capable of casting when they level up, but sorcerers are more fixed.

Bring it up to your DM. It's a strait debuff so it could probably fly.


I had not thought of this so I thank you for the new insight. CampinCarl9127 appears to be completely correct. You must go off the spells known chart, but you should do as he says and talk to your GM. (DM is apparently copyrighted) ;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Exchanging Spells... Kinda (sorcerer) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions