| Lost In Limbo |
Yes you can, the construction requirements of a spell have no real interaction on the final product other than as thematic pointers.
The only reason you couldn't use the rod and feat together would be if they gave the same kind of bonus and didn't stack. But the giant simple template gives primarily size bonuses while augment summoning gives enhancement bonuses, no overlap.
| jonhl1986 |
one more thing for my character im wondering if there would be a way i could be a conjuration specialist and still have the ability to cast polymorph spells on it.
oh and i was also wondering if i use giant summoning and then use meld familiar into the summon does the familiar have the summoned creatures hit points now or still its own ?
| Lost In Limbo |
First, yes. As a specialist wizard you can choose two different schools as your opposed schools. If you know you want to use a lot of polymorph spells then just don't select transmutation as one of those opposed schools.
Secondly, I think you might be misreading either the Merge with Familiar spell or maybe Familiar Melding.
Merge with Familiar lets the spellcaster merge the familiar into their own body. It doesn't let them merge the familiar into anyone or anything else.
Familiar melding is likewise locked down between the familiar and the caster, but uses the familiars body as the host for the caster's mind.
Of course I could be completely off and you could be referring to another ability I'm unaware of, but these were the closest two I could find from your description.
| jonhl1986 |
Conjuration
Conjurers' familiars are masters of teleportation that can inhabit the bodies of summoned creatures.
Lesser—Master's Side (Sp)
The familiar can use dimension door to return to its master's side a number of times per day equal to 3 + its Intelligence modifier (minimum once per day).
Greater—Summoned Shell (Sp)
Whenever the familiar's master casts a summon monster spell, if the familiar is within the spell's range, it can choose to inhabit the body of one creature summoned by the spell. While inhabiting the body, the familiar maintains its own Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores and its familiar powers, but otherwise gains the statistics and abilities of the summoned creature.
When the spell ends, or the summoned creature's hit points are reduced to 0, the familiar is expelled without suffering any negative effects.
| Lost In Limbo |
OK, I found it. If you are referencing something from one of the non-core books it's usually good to either quote or cite the book in question so people know where to go looking.
Anyway, as the ability says, mental stats and special familiar abilities stay, everything else is overridden by the summoned creature.
So for the duration of the spell the combined familiar/summoned creature uses the summoned creature's HP. After the spell ends, by duration or banishment, the familiar is left behind with the same number of HP he had before the merge.
| Lost In Limbo |
No, they're pretty much all in the animal archive or the familiar folio, both from the player companion line. Core are the main, big hardcover books that pretty much everyone knows relatively well, the smaller paperback lines tend to be less well known so it's nice to point out where you're getting the rules from.
So like, for your previous question, instead of just asking about what happens when your familiar melds with a summon, ask something like "When I use the Summoned Shell ability of the conjuration school familiar..." Or "What happens when I use the Summoned Shell from the familiar folio?"
Really, just using the actual name of the ability really helps since with sites like d20pfsrd and Archives of Nethys it's easy to look up abilities, but it's hard to search for something if you don't know it's name or what it is.
For instance, I tried looking up the words "meld" and "familiar" on both those sites and only found those two spells, since the Summoned Shell ability doesn't use the word "meld" at all.