Take 10 and self-stabilization.


Rules Questions


I let a dying PC use Take 10 to stabilize outside of combat. He had taken quite a beating and I'm not a sadist, so I allowed it.

My question is, though he was out of combat, does dying represent either an immediate danger or distraction?


4 people marked this as a favorite.
G.M. Joe - A Real Golarion Hero wrote:
does dying represent...an immediate danger

If you can find a greater immediate danger than dying, I would love to know.


it's completely up to the GM if take 10 is allowed or not.


CampinCarl9127 wrote:
If you can find a greater immediate danger than dying, I would love to know.

LOL! Yeah, I know the question is silly. The game in question is a PBP on facebook and some of the people I play with only update once every two days, so my ruling was more to speed things along than anything. Still, most posts I've seen interpret immediate danger as 'being in combat.'

Chess Pwn wrote:

it's completely up to the GM if take 10 is allowed or not.

Thanks for clearing that up. If I wasn't running a PBP, I would probably rule it otherwise, then.


I think it's a situation in which I wouldn't typically allow someone to take 10. It really is harder to imagine a more immediate danger. That said, I'd have probably just hand-waved a roll in general - I'd just say "OK, you've gotten stabilized."


Danger does not always necessarily mean in combat. Accidentally falling off of a cliff isn't combat, but it can be pretty deadly.

Personally I would not allow taking ten, but I would have no problem playing in a game where you could. It makes things a little safer by not letting safe but unconscious players bleed out, which doesn't happen most of the time anyways (DC 15 heal check or any magical healing).


Is this a valid use of take 10? Clearly not.

Should you reverse your call? Clearly not.

Did you do the wrong thing? I'd say not.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The GM decides if you can Take 10 based on drama and tension. If he want's to allow take 10 he can. If he want's to disallow he can. We've officially been told that it's completely up to the GM of when we can take 10


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'd probably allow it. Nobody wants to lose a character to bleeding after surviving a fight.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Take 10 and self-stabilization. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.