Barbarian rage powers and natural attacks?


Rules Questions


So this is a two part question. First off can a barbarian or unchained barbarian take both a Totem and a Bloodrage rage power?

You can only take one totem tree and one Bloodrage tree but nothing seems to say you cant take both a totem tree and a bloodrage tree

[Not to be confused with a bloodragers bloodline which is diffrent too]

Part 2: If you can take both a totem and a bloodrage what happens if a quadruped gains two sets of two claw attacks?

I understand a bi-ped is unable to obtain two sets of claw attacks as it only has two arms but what about say.. A kitsune in fox form? This makes you a tiny quadruped.

Ex:
A barbarian obtains two claw attacks with the Lesser beast totem
but then has Lesser Draconic Blood that also gives two claw attacks?


Yes you can have both a bloodrage rage line and a totem rage line.

From what I understand about claws, 1 set of limbs is always ineligible, so you would need to be a hexaped to gain 4 claws.


Like a Kasatha, for example, which has four arms.


Calth wrote:
From what I understand about claws, 1 set of limbs is always ineligible, so you would need to be a hexaped to gain 4 claws.

Not entirely true.

Claws and Talons FAQ wrote:

If I gain claw attacks, can I put those claw attacks on my feet?

If you are a bipedal creature (roughly humanoid-shaped, with two arms and two legs), your claws must go on your hands; you can not assign them to any other limb or body part.

If you are a quadruped (or have more than four legs), you can have claws on your feet. If you have claws on all of your feet, normally you can't use all of those claw attacks on your turn unless you have a special ability such as pounce or rake.

Talons are much like claws, but go on a creature's feet, usually a bipedal creature (especially a flying bipedal creature such as a giant eagle or harpy). An ability that grants you claw attacks cannot be used as if they were talon attacks (in other words, you can't "re-skin" the ability's game mechanics so you can use it on a different limb).


So
"
If you are a quadruped (or have more than four legs), you can have claws on your feet. If you have claws on all of your feet, normally you can't use all of those claw attacks on your turn unless you have a special ability such as pounce or rake.
"

So by the FAQ I could use the Kitsun's Pounce obtained from feats or the barbarian pounce obtained through rage powers to make 4 claw attacks after a charge as a full attack? :'D


If you are in Fox Shape, then yes. And you also get your bite.

If you don't end up becoming a quadruped, you can gain talons on your feat (and a bite) for 5 minutes per day with a 12,000 gp Animal Totem Tattoo (Eagle Shaman).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Barbarian rage powers and natural attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions