
Eyvindr |
Recently started playing, and yesterday my swashbuckler got the Main Gauche, which I did not keep (did not think I could play it with another weapon). Seltyiel picked it up and was using it with the Cat of 9 tails for 1d8+3 + 3d4 + 1d4 (playing it as a weapon with the Cat and combining the dice. It seemed over powered, so I started doing research, and found the information below.
QUOTE FROM ERRATA: Can I play Main-Gauche with another weapon or not? The first sentence tells me when I can't, not when I can.
You can, so long as you didn't play another weapon with the 2-Handed trait.
Resolution: On the weapon Main-Gauche, replace the text with the following:
For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill + 1d4.
Discard this card to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 2. You may play this card on a check even if you played a weapon that does not have the 2-Handed trait.
QUOTE FROM MIKE S: Because this is a game in which there is no hair so fine it cannot be split again, there are many reasons you could play a weapon before the Main-Gauche, and we wanted to kill all the ones that involve 2-Handed weapons, but not any of the others.
Also, the Main Gauche is not a Dagger, so don't assume anything on the Dagger should be on the Main-Gauche.
-----------------------------------
I'm finding the errata MORE confusing rather than less.
Is it the intention that you can play the Main Gauche on your combat check, WITHOUT another weapon, to use your Strength or Melee skill + 1d4.
OR
Discard this card to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 2. You may play this card on a check even if you played a weapon (provided that weapon) does not have the 2-Handed trait.
OR can you do either one (or both), provided the other weapon used does not have the 2 handed trait?

Hawkmoon269 |

Mike's quote is from before the FAQ. The FAQ changes what Mike said.
Main-Gauche now has two powers:
1. For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill + 1d4.
2. Discard this card to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 2. You may play this card on a check even if you played a weapon that does not have the 2-Handed trait.
Power 1 is a simple combat check, like other weapons.
Power 2 is a way to play the Main-Gauche to reduce damage. You may do that, even if you played a weapon (breaking the 1 of each type of card rule) as long as the weapon you played didn't have the 2-Handed trait.
Power 1 does not allow you to break the 1 card of each type rule. You only get to break that rule when you are using the power to reduce damage.
If you play the Main-Gauche for your combat check, you get to use Strength or Melee + 1d4. You can't play another weapon like Cat O'Nine Tails on the same check. (Daggers are fine though.) That is using power 1.
If you play a Longsword and fail the check and therefore take Combat damage, you can discard the Main-Gauche to reduce that damage by 2, even though you already played a weapon on the check because the Main-Gauche's second power allows you to do so since the Longsword doesn't have the 2-Handed trait.

Eyvindr |
Thank you - that was my first interpretation of the original wording of the card, which then got confused by wording on other answers.
I do think that adding a couple of words would improve the structure of option 2 (see below) but maybe there are space issues for words.
2. Discard this card to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 2. You may play this card on a check even if you played a weapon, provided that weapon does not have the 2-Handed trait.