Inquisitor Initiative


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So let's say you've got 2 8th level inquisitors, both with the Tactics inquisition. Each has a +3 dexterity modifier and a +3 wisdom modifier. When you roll initiative, does the Tactics inquisition stack with regular Inquisitor initiative? So do both inquisitors have +6 to initiative? (+2 dex, +2 wis, +2 other guy's wis) If you added another inquisitor, would they all have +8?

rules wrote:
Grant the Initiative (Ex): At 8th level, you and all allies within 30 feet may add your Wisdom bonus to your initiative checks.


That's one of those corner cases where it's just up to the DM.

To be clear, your Cunning Initiative bonus wouldn't stack with your own Grant The Initiative, as they are both bonuses to the same thing from the same stat.

But in my opinion, the bonus from a second inquisitor should stack with your own bonuses as it's an untyped bonus from an external source.


Yeah, that sounds about right.

Just like how a party of six level 1 human nature oracles with Bonded Mount, Extra Revelation (Friend to the Animals), and pre-errata Animal Soul could get all of their saves into the 30s.

Liberty's Edge

This is the faq that answers this question. Basically, no, they don't stack. Both bonuses are wisdom bonuses, and you can't add the same kind of modifier twice to the same roll. If it said you and your allies could add your wisdom as a sacred bonus to their initiative, that would be different, but as it stands, it doesn't stack. In fact the part where it says you can add your wisdom to your initiative is mostly useless, because you already add your wisdom to initiative.

EDIT - And apparently Melkiador already mentioned this.


Deighton Thrane wrote:
In fact the part where it says you can add your wisdom to your initiative is mostly useless, because you already add your wisdom to initiative.

This could make you a significantly more powerful Cleric, if you have another domain with a good spell list. Or if you used the Icon of Aspects (maybe, if inquisition=domain) to swap out bad domain powers for this.

The big question is if an inquisitor's Grant the Initiative stacks with other inquisitors' Grant the Initiative and Cunning Initiative, as opposed to Grant the Initiative stacking with Cunning Initiative for a single inquisitor.


Deighton, the question isn't about whether Grant the Initiative and Cunning Initiative let you add your own wisdom bonus twice to your initiative. It doesn't.

The question is whether you can add your own wisdom and someone else's to your initiative, and as far as I'm aware, those are still considered two different sources.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Well IMHO, Tactics DOES stack with Cunning Init even when the same person is "source" of them,
just as they would if both were just (different) spells as long as the spells don't have wording saying they don't stack.
Wisdom bonus is not a (non-stacking) bonus type, and the ability (Tactics/Cunning) is the source, not "Wisdom" as such.
...But that conflicts with "official FAQ", so disregard the above. :-)

Regardless,
the question of whether they stack when DIFFERENT characters are the source of Tactics Inquisition and Cunning Init
IS valid and is not answered by the official FAQ which reads:
"and the same would be true for any other untyped "bonus equal to her [ability score] bonus" constructions."
In this case, the question is not: Does Ability = "her Wis bonus" and Ability = "her Wis bonus" stack?
It is: Does Ability = "her Wis bonus" and Abilty = "his Wis bonus" stack? Which is not covered by FAQ.
If you are going to call them the "same source", you have to account for the likely possibility that they are NOT even the same value,
in other words need to argue that simultaneously X=Y and X=/=Y.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Inquisitor Initiative All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions