Magus Archetype 'Skirnir' - do they get their bonded shield for free?


Rules Questions


This is for PFS, if that matters with this one.

The Magus archetype 'Skirnir' has a special 'Arcane Bond' that states:

At 1st level, a skirnir gains a shield (except for a tower shield) as an arcane bond item. This is identical to the wizard class ability, but the skirnir may only bond with a shield, not a familiar or other item.

Link: Linky

Must they still purchase this shield? Or do they literally get a shield for free?

Thanks!

Scarab Sages

It functions as a Wizard Arcane Bond, so they get it for free. No special materials though, just a standard Masterwork Light or Heavy Shield.


Pretty clear yes. They get a free shield


I think you two are correct; it just seems there is much in PFS where the caveat is "the player must still purchase the item".

Had to do a sanity check. Thanks!

Grand Lodge

What class-granted items must the player buy?


For the life of me I can't recall; it just seems like I've run into this before. I poked around but can't even find an example now.

Which makes me doubly-glad that I asked instead of assumed.

Grand Lodge

Yep, they get a free masterwork shield for free...

...and bonus, at level 5 they can upgrade their shield with Craft Magical Arms and Armour without having to spend a feat on it. This is an exception to the normal "no crafting" rules in PFS.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Archetype 'Skirnir' - do they get their bonded shield for free? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions