| DM_Blake |
No, not correct.
The cloud fills the area. The cloud lasts for the duration of the spell. If you enter the area of the cloud (or you're in it when it is cast on you) then you are nauseated. If you leave the area, you remain nauseated for 1d4+1 rounds - note that for this to be true you are not in the cloud anymore because you left it. Which means the existence of the cloud SOMEWHERE ELSE has no effect on the 1d4+1 rounds you remain nauseated, and this includes the cloud dissipating at the end of its duration (in other words, it doesn't matter if the cloud exists or not because you are not in it anyway, but you're still nauseated until your 1d4+1 rounds run out).
| Robb Smith |
No, not correct.
The cloud fills the area. The cloud lasts for the duration of the spell. If you enter the area of the cloud (or you're in it when it is cast on you) then you are nauseated. If you leave the area, you remain nauseated for 1d4+1 rounds - note that for this to be true you are not in the cloud anymore because you left it. Which means the existence of the cloud SOMEWHERE ELSE has no effect on the 1d4+1 rounds you remain nauseated, and this includes the cloud dissipating at the end of its duration (in other words, it doesn't matter if the cloud exists or not because you are not in it anyway, but you're still nauseated until your 1d4+1 rounds run out).
^- Agree 100%. The continued existence of the cloud and/or duration of the spell itself does not impact your affect time whatsoever.
| Godferret |
Thank you both so much for your prompt responses. I had based my conclusion on a misunderstanding of the duration section of the magic rules, but having re-read it I see that you are correct.
Your answer raises a follow-up question to me; if a character was inside the cloud when the spell concluded, would they count as having left the cloud? That is to say, if they were nauseated would they continue to be nauseated for 1d4+1 rounds, or would their nausea end once the spell ended. Thank you again for your help.