Transformative Weapon ability


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does the transformative weapon ability count toward the +10 cap of regular enhancement and special ability bonuses that can be put on a weapon. And if so does it count as +4 or a +5 bonus.

The reason I ask is that it only lists a price of $10,000 and does don't give a regular enchantment cost. That seems pretty cheap for a +4 or +5 ability, and doesn't follow the regular cost chart of applying bonuses to a weapon via the chart given in the rule books for magic weapons. It would also seem cheaper to apply this magic ability last, if it counts toward the +10 cap a magic weapon can have, because applying any regular bonus or abilities afterwards would be far more expensive than applying them before the transformative ability.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Transformative is not a "plussed" ability.

As long as your weapon is already magical (has at least a +1 enhancement bonus), it can also be Transformative (at the additional cost mentioned) but that additional cost is not a +N equivalent.


SlimGauge is correct. It is confusing because in Ultimate Equipment it shows up on the random table for +4 and +5 special abilities, but it really isn't a +X ability at all. You can add as many flat-priced enhancements as you can afford (Transformative, Dueling, Glamered, Impervious, etc.) without using any of your +10 maximum bonus. Of course, SlimGauge is also correct that you need at least a +1 enhancement bonus before you can any of these.


I am glad to hear this, but just in case my gm asks me to clarify this, via the rules, could you maybe point me to a link, a page number in the rulebooks, or maybe a FAQ that states this clearly. Sorry to be so much trouble.


I did some more looking up, and about the closest thing I could find to support that flat cost bonuses are not considered +N bonuses and do not count toward the +10 cap on magic weapons is this at the bottom of the special abilities charts for weapons.

Add to enhancement bonus on Table: Weapon Pricing by Bonus to determine total price.

The only reason they are on located in the +N charts specifically is to determine the d% when a gm has to determine random loot and treasure for PCs.

Can someone tell me if I am wrong with my reasoning or if there is somewhere in the pathfinder rules or FAQs that says this specifically. Again I just need to know this in case my GM wants to argue with me over this and I can point it out in the rules to him. Any help would be greatly appreciated.


SlimGauge gave you the link to the PRD. It states "Price +10,000 gp." Qualities that are +N state "Price +N Bonus".

/cebah

Grand Lodge

It falls into a crack in the rules because the CRB doesn't have any weapon abilities that are statically priced.

This ability falls into the same rules as things like Glamered for armor does.

If you go to the Armor table, in the Magic Items chapter, or to Armor on teh PRD, you will see that Glamered shows a set price, but that other abilities, like Fortification, Light shows a +1 bonus, and a superscript 1 for the footnote: 1 Add to enhancement bonus on Table: Armor and Shields to determine total market price

For weapon sin the CRB, since there are no weapon enhancements with a static price, that same footnote, but referencing weapons, applies to the entire CRB table.

Due to oversight, they never added that qualifier to other tables with statically priced weapon enhancements.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Transformative Weapon ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions