Esoteric Magus and Ki Throw


Rules Questions


It seems like the Esoteric Magus archetype is supposed to be to monks what the Hexcrafter is to witches. I'm curious about how thoroughly you guys think they combine. In particular, this:

Ki Arcana wrote:
At 4th level, an esoteric's arcane pool is also considered a ki pool for the purposes of meeting feat and ability requirements. Points from an esoteric's arcane pool can be used for abilities that normally require ki. If an esoteric gains a ki pool, he can use points from his arcane pool and ki pool interchangeably (though not special points such as drunken ki).

And this:

Ki Throw wrote:

Benefit: On a successful unarmed trip attack against a target your size or smaller, you may throw the target prone in any square you threaten rather than its own square. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and you cannot throw the creature into a space occupied by other creatures.

Special: A monk may gain Ki Throw as a bonus feat at 10th level. A monk with this feat can affect creatures larger than his own size by spending 1 ki point per size category difference.

If an Esoteric Magus gets Ki Throw, can he spend ki to affect larger creatures than himself? On the one hand he's supposed to be able to use his ki pool like a monk does, but on the other hand he isn't a monk.


chuffster wrote:
If an Esoteric Magus gets Ki Throw, can he spend ki to affect larger creatures than himself?

No. They aren't Monks, so they don't qualify. Sadly.

chuffster wrote:
On the one hand he's supposed to be able to use his ki pool like a monk does, but on the other hand he isn't a monk.

Nothing in the Esoteric Magus description says that they are supposed to use their Ki Pool like a Monk does. In fact the only time Monk is mentioned is to describe the damage progression for their Unarmed Strikes. To me they seem more like a Brawler than a Monk.


Gisher wrote:
chuffster wrote:
If an Esoteric Magus gets Ki Throw, can he spend ki to affect larger creatures than himself?
No. They aren't Monks, so they don't qualify. Sadly.

Yeah, this archetype could really use something to juice it up. If they replaced the usual "count as fighter levels" ability with "count as monk levels" it might be a little more tempting.

Quote:
chuffster wrote:
On the one hand he's supposed to be able to use his ki pool like a monk does, but on the other hand he isn't a monk.
Nothing in the Esoteric Magus description says that they are supposed to use their Ki Pool like a Monk does. In fact the only time Monk is mentioned is to describe the damage progression for their Unarmed Strikes. To me they seem more like a Brawler than a Monk.

I think the "Points from an esoteric's arcane pool can be used for abilities that normally require ki." is a nod in that direction, but I agree with you that the most likely ruling is going to be a no go. Which means that the magus with a ki pool isn't any better than the regular magus at using ki throw.


It would make more sense if they got some of the Ki-based spells added to their spell lists. My guess is that this feature is largely intended to be useful if you multi-class with Monk.

There are also a few feats that don't require you to be a Monk, but do give you benefits if you have a Ki Pool. For example, Deny Death and Gliding Steps. Ki Arcana would let you use those, but I'm not sure how good they are yet.

Shadow Lodge

My gut says that it's intended to let the magus use stuff like ki throw - it's an ability that normally uses ki. IIRC until Ultimate Combat and the ninja, only monks had ki, so the wording "a monk may... by spending 1 ki point" may not reflect an intent to limit other ki-using classes.

Saying it counts as a monk for abilities using ki might give the Esoteric Magus other things like ki strike, explaining why that wording would be absent from the archetype.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Esoteric Magus and Ki Throw All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions