Alchemical Reagents Questions


Rules Questions


Alchemical Agents Info for Reference

Same Item Focus Component wrote:
You cannot use the same item as both a focus and a material component at the same time.

Does this mean that- if the caster has two hands free- he can use one copy of the item as a focus and expend another as a material component? Or does it mean the two functions cannot be used in the same casting?

Stacking issues wrote:
Reagents do not stack with either themselves or one another, and are expended after use.

I believe this means that Saltpeter [+1 fire damage] and Black Powder [+1 damage to Evocation spells] do not function together, correct?

I'm slightly second-guessing it because they specifically highlight different things, but I'm pretty sure they don't.


Bump

Dark Archive

You can use two items of the same kind, one as a focus, one as a material component. But you cannot use ONE item as both focus and component.

When using two components, make sure the spell doesn't need any gestures to cast.

I am unsure with regards to the 2nd question.
I'd say you cannot stack the same bonus. But [+1 fire damage] and [+1 damage to evocation] would be different boni, IMO.


So you feel that +1 Fire Damage and +1 damage to evocation are separate bonuses huh.

They're both reagents that grant a bonus to damage so I wasn't sure.


Just giving this one last bump to see if I can fish out any other opinions/perspectives.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemical Reagents Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.