Losing material components when failing to cast spells


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If you fail a concentration check while casting a spell with material components do you lose the material components? This won't matter much for negligible cost components but if you need to refresh your stoneskin mid combat and your spell is disrupted or countered did you lose the 250 gp materials? For reference the rules on concentration state:

Core Rulebook page 206 wrote:
If you fail the check, you lose the spell just as if you had cast it to no effect.


You lose the spell "just as if you had cast it", and casting the spell uses the components, so yes. The spell components are used up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Losing material components when failing to cast spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions