
![]() |

How does one resolve the issue of a failed save against Lesser Confusion when it's cast as part of a readied action. Specifically as follows
Cleric readies an action to cast Lesser Confusion against the Orc he believes is the leader when said Orc moves within 30 feet of him.
The Orc starts his turn 60 feet away and moves forward 30 feet, triggering the readied casting.
The Orc fails his save.
The Ready rules specify:
The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character.
Confusion states:
Roll on the following table at the start of each subject's turn each round to see what it does in that round.
So what happens?
The Orc has started their turn and has moved, or the trigger couldn't have occurred. I ruled that the affect only happens at the start of their next turn; but I'm honestly not sure if that was the right call.