Kinetic Blast + Prehensile Tail


Rules Questions


Okay, I was looking over the Kineticist class, because that was the class I was most looking forward to since the playtest (me and just about everybody else it seems), and was reading the info for the Kinetic Blast class feature.

It says that you are able to use any prehensile appendage to fire the blast, and was wondering if that would allow a creature with a prehensile tail, such as a Vanara, Monkey Goblin, or Tiefling with the appropriate alternate racial feature, to fire off a kinetic blast using their tail.

Occult Adventures pg. 11 wrote:
She must have at least one hand free to aim the blast (or one prehensile appendage, if she doesn’t have hands).

Does that mean you literally cannot have hands in order to use a different appendage, or can you use the appendage if your hands are full? (I.E. a kineticist/fighter multiclass using a two-handed weapon/sword and shield?)

Silver Crusade

Well, you still have hands... so...

This does work for Gathering Power I think.

Grand Lodge

DekoTheBarbarian wrote:

Okay, I was looking over the Kineticist class, because that was the class I was most looking forward to since the playtest (me and just about everybody else it seems), and was reading the info for the Kinetic Blast class feature.

It says that you are able to use any prehensile appendage to fire the blast, and was wondering if that would allow a creature with a prehensile tail, such as a Vanara, Monkey Goblin, or Tiefling with the appropriate alternate racial feature, to fire off a kinetic blast using their tail.

Occult Adventures pg. 11 wrote:
She must have at least one hand free to aim the blast (or one prehensile appendage, if she doesn’t have hands).
Does that mean you literally cannot have hands in order to use a different appendage, or can you use the appendage if your hands are full? (I.E. a kineticist/fighter multiclass using a two-handed weapon/sword and shield?)

If you're expecting to magus on the cheap, blasting with your tail and chopping with your sword, you don't have the action economy to do so. If you're just looking to blast while having the sword ready to wield, you can, but you don't have hands free to gather power.


@LazarX: I know I can't do both, was just wondering if it was possible. Would come in handy if I ever get tied up or otherwise unable to use my hands.


No gathering power if tied up and unable to use your hands. The writing is pretty clear on the point that your hands must be free if you have them. Less clear on if you can hold something in your tail if you have that too.


Gather Power is definitively "no" while not having EVERY prehensile appendage free to do it. Aiming the Kinetic Blast seems like it could be an FAQ candidate, but as it is written now I would say that you literally need to not possess hands in order to aim it with your prehensile tail.

On a silly but related tangent: Do you have prehensile feet (like a monkey)? Do you only possess tentacles to stand on? If so, you'd better drop prone or hover in the air if you want to Gather Power. I guess an awakened monkey or octopus-on-land is limited to being an Aerokineticist for that constant Fly spell-like.

...

Now I want a character who is an awakened (Giant?) Octopus Kineticist with Greater Air Shroud and Wings of Air.


DekoTheBarbarian wrote:
@LazarX: I know I can't do both, was just wondering if it was possible. Would come in handy if I ever get tied up or otherwise unable to use my hands.

As written that would be a "no". The clause explicitly states you cannot have hands. Not "use of hands" or "instead of hands" or anything of the like.

If you have hands and a prehensile appendage, you aren't fulfilling the clause.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kinetic Blast + Prehensile Tail All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions