Toothy


Rules Questions


One of our players in the Skull & Shackles AP is a half-orc barbarian with the Toothy racial trait. He wields a cutlass for his primary weapon. Is the bite attack granted by this trait in addition to his cutlass attack in the same round or is it just a seperate mode of attack? If it's an additional attack, is it considered a secondary attack with -5 to hit plus 1/2 strength damage, or is an attack with regular bonuses? - Dukan


It's in addition, and is treated as a secondary attack.


Dukan wrote:
One of our players in the Skull & Shackles AP is a half-orc barbarian with the Toothy racial trait. He wields a cutlass for his primary weapon. Is the bite attack granted by this trait in addition to his cutlass attack in the same round or is it just a seperate mode of attack? If it's an additional attack, is it considered a secondary attack with -5 to hit plus 1/2 strength damage, or is an attack with regular bonuses? - Dukan

Toothy grants a primary natural attack.

Some excerpts from Natural Attacks:

"Primary attacks are made using the creature's full base attack bonus and add the creature's full Strength bonus on damage rolls... If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature's full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 the creature's Strength bonus on damage rolls."

"Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons can use both as part of a full attack action (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam). Such creatures attack with their weapons normally but treat all of their natural attacks as secondary attacks during that attack, regardless of the attack's original type."

"Secondary attacks are made using the creature's base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature's Strength bonus on damage rolls."

So assuming he doesn't have claws or gore or tentacles or whatever, he's only got one natural attack - the bite. If he attacks only with the bite, it's primary, at full BAB, with 1.5xStr bonus.

If he makes a full attack, and attacks with his cutlass in addition to his bite, the bite is treated as secondary, at BAB-5 and only 0.5xStr bonus.

-edit- Note that if he fights with the cutlass and a bite, he does not take Two-Weapon Fighting penalties. It used to, but was changed in errata to match the universal monster rules. A few rule fragments remain in the CRB.


Thanks y'all. That's what I was thinking.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Toothy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.