Arcanist Archetype 'Eldritch Font' and its 'Font of Power'


Rules Questions


I don't know if I'm tired - but I keep staring at this description and my brain keeps telling me that the first two lines cancel each other out - which doesn't make sense.

Font of Power says: "An eldritch font gains one additional spell slot for each level of arcanist spell she can cast. However, the number of spells of each level that she can prepare reduces by 1. If this reduces her spells prepared for a level to 0, she still gains spell slots of that level, which can be consumed using the consume spells class feature to fuel her arcane reservoir or cast spells using metamagic feats."

My trouble is the two lines in bold.

So, with Arcanists, there is the number of spells they can prepare for a day, and then there is the number of spells they can cast spontaneously that day. What exactly does this power do for both of these variables?

This is probably simple - my brain is just getting fuzzy.


Okay okay okay

I'm guessing - one less prepared spell for the day (so, one less spell "known"), but they get +1 to the number of spells they can cast.

Correct?


Yes, you have it right. Keep in mind this adversely affects cantrips.


Treat the Arcanist as a special kind of spontaneous caster. Read "spells prepared" as "spells known". Then it should make more sense.

So yeah, you got the wording right. +1 spell slot/level, -1 spell known/level.


Archaeik wrote:
Yes, you have it right. Keep in mind this adversely affects cantrips.

I'm not sure what you mean about cantrips - could you clarify? It seems the special description block does not address them specifically.

You are right that it is an odd case because cantrips can be cast "infinitely", and so you can't really remove a "spell slot" for them. This special seems to give 1 less cantrip known, but they can't cast infinite + 1, so they kind of get robbed.

My Self wrote:

Treat the Arcanist as a special kind of spontaneous caster. Read "spells prepared" as "spells known". Then it should make more sense.

So yeah, you got the wording right. +1 spell slot/level, -1 spell known/level.

That was pretty much my problem. The term "spell slot" was throwing my tired brain for a loop.

Thank you both for the confirmation!

--TG


Tabletop Giant wrote:
Archaeik wrote:
Yes, you have it right. Keep in mind this adversely affects cantrips.

I'm not sure what you mean about cantrips - could you clarify? It seems the special description block does not address them specifically.

You are right that it is an odd case because cantrips can be cast "infinitely", and so you can't really remove a "spell slot" for them. This special seems to give 1 less cantrip known, but they can't cast infinite + 1, so they kind of get robbed.

That's indeed what he meant.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcanist Archetype 'Eldritch Font' and its 'Font of Power' All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions