Water / Ice Domain Question


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

My Undine Inquisitor has the Ice Domain which grants him the Icicle ability at level 1.

Icicle (Sp): As a standard action, you can fire an icicle from your finger, targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack. The icicle deals 1d6 points of cold damage + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

My inquisitor also has the Point Blank Shot feat. My question is since the Icicle is not a ranged weapon but a ranged attack, would it or would it not get the +1 damage bonus from Point Blank Shot? I am fairly sure it would not, but I am not an expert yet and just want to get some feedback from some other players on this. Thank you all for any help and happy gaming.


PBS applies (as does -4 for firing into melee, and Precise Shot feat would negate that).

Sovereign Court

Blake's Tiger wrote:
PBS applies (as does -4 for firing into melee, and Precise Shot feat would negate that).

Cool. Thanks for the info dude. Could I get one more to confirm this for me? And thanks again and happy gaming.


Its pretty common to treat ranged touch attacks as if they were 'weapons' for shooting into a melee, but it's kind of a messy subject by the official rules and I'm not sure it's ever been ruled on specifically. Anyhow, either the bonus from PBS and penalty for shooting into melee should both apply, or neither should apply.

There is an official FAQ that says that rays and 'weapon-like spells' are affected by things that effect weapons, and it's not a stretch to consider the icicle in the same light. Interestingly, if your GM goes with treating it as a 'weapon' then you can point out to him that as a 'weapon' it should receive all the relevant Inquisitor bonuses like Divine Favor or Judgement...

Sovereign Court

BadBird wrote:

Its pretty common to treat ranged touch attacks as if they were 'weapons' for shooting into a melee, but it's kind of a messy subject by the official rules and I'm not sure it's ever been ruled on specifically. Anyhow, either the bonus from PBS and penalty for shooting into melee should both apply, or neither should apply.

There is an official FAQ that says that rays and 'weapon-like spells' are affected by things that effect weapons, and it's not a stretch to consider the icicle in the same light. Interestingly, if your GM goes with treating it as a 'weapon' then you can point out to him that as a 'weapon' it should receive all the relevant Inquisitor bonuses like Divine Favor or Judgement...

Thank you. have a great day and happy gaming to you and everyone else that helped out on this post.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Water / Ice Domain Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions