Magic Weapon


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Does an enemy get a Will Save if you hit them with a weapon that has been hit with Magic Weapon? I know they get a Will Save if you try to use it on their own weapon.

Sovereign Court

No.


Pathfinder SRD, Spells, applicable rules wrote:


Saving Throws
(object)

The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature's saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater. This notation does not mean that a spell can be cast only on objects. Some spells of this sort can be cast on creatures or objects. A magic item's saving throw bonuses are each equal to 2 + 1/2 the item's caster level.

(harmless)

The spell is usually beneficial, not harmful, but a targeted creature can attempt a saving throw if it desires.

So here is proof that there is no saving throw if you cast it on your own weapon (unless you want to resist the spell). Likewise if you cast it on an ally's weapon (he probably won't want to resist either).

Once the spell has been cast and you touch the target weapon, it either saves, right then, or doesn't. If the spell succeeds (no save or failed save) then it is in place and now that weapon has a +1 enhancement bonus for the duration of the spell. There are no more saves. Hitting someone with this weapon is exactly like hitting him with real magic weapon (he can't save against those, either).


DM_Blake wrote:
Pathfinder SRD, Spells, applicable rules wrote:


Saving Throws
(object)

The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature's saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater. This notation does not mean that a spell can be cast only on objects. Some spells of this sort can be cast on creatures or objects. A magic item's saving throw bonuses are each equal to 2 + 1/2 the item's caster level.

(harmless)

The spell is usually beneficial, not harmful, but a targeted creature can attempt a saving throw if it desires.

So here is proof that there is no saving throw if you cast it on your own weapon (unless you want to resist the spell). Likewise if you cast it on an ally's weapon (he probably won't want to resist either).

Once the spell has been cast and you touch the target weapon, it either saves, right then, or doesn't. If the spell succeeds (no save or failed save) then it is in place and now that weapon has a +1 enhancement bonus for the duration of the spell. There are no more saves. Hitting someone with this weapon is exactly like hitting him with real magic weapon (he can't save against those, either).

Minor correction: It is ALMOST like using a real magic weapon. Real magic weapons also get to count as silver/cold-iron, adamantine & alignment specific weapons depending on their enhancement bonus. A weapon with a "magic weapon" spell upon it doesn't.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions