Emerald of dexterity and blessing.


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Imagine that Jirielle must succeed a non-combat test of fortitude and use the emerald of dexterity and a blessing.

I think she must roll 1d10 (dexterity dice from emerald) + 1d6 (bonus dice from blessing based on constitution dice because it's still a fortitude test) +2 (bonus of fortitude).

A friend think it should be : 1d10 + 1d10 (the blessing copy the dexterity dice used for the test) +2.

Who's right (if any)?


Your friend is right. Emerald changes your die for that roll.

Sovereign Court

Your die it's now a d10 so that is what you add. Just remember it isn't a Dec check so Blessings of Erastil wouldn't add 2 dice.


You can check out this thread for more discussion on that question, and also to see the piece of PACG history when these cards were named Stat stones.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Andrew L Klein wrote:
Your die it's now a d10 so that is what you add. Just remember it isn't a Dec check so Blessings of Erastil wouldn't add 2 dice.

Given that it's non-combat, Erastil had no chance of adding two dice. But sure, Milani is not appropriate for this roll, you need Cayden Cailean.

Sovereign Court

First World Bard wrote:
Andrew L Klein wrote:
Your die it's now a d10 so that is what you add. Just remember it isn't a Dec check so Blessings of Erastil wouldn't add 2 dice.
Given that it's non-combat, Erastil had no chance of adding two dice. But sure, Milani is not appropriate for this roll, you need Cayden Cailean.

Not sure how I missed "non"...


Ok, I see, thanks.

If I can ask for some more details, I need to understand every causes in this situation... :)

There is a rule about blessings (p24 SaS) wich says "The dice added are normally of the type associated with the skill the character is using for the check."

In this example the used skill is constitution+fortitude but the blessing add a dexterity dice nevertheless. It seems to be in contradiction with the rule to me so what don't I understand?


The Emerald of Dexterity changed you Constitution die for that check. So your Constitution die is temporarily 1d10. During that check, anything that would care about your Constitution die uses a d10 for your Constitution die.


So to make sure I'm right a blessing that affected a non-combat Con check would still give 2 dice but a blessing for non-combat dex would only give 1 correct?


The Emerald of Dexterity doesn't change the skill for the check (i.e. it isn't played in the "Determine the Skill You're Using" part of the check), it just changes the die (i.e. it is played in the "Play Cards and Use Powers that Affect the Check" part of the check). So it is still a Constitution check and is not a Dexterity check. So yes, a blessing that would add two dice to a non-Combat Constitution check would add two dice to the check mentioned in the first post. A blessing that added two dice to a non-Combat Dexterity check wouldn't be able to add two dice. You could use the other power on it to add 1 die still.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Elender wrote:

There is a rule about blessings (p24 SaS) which says "The dice added are normally of the type associated with the skill the character is using for the check."

In this example the used skill is constitution+fortitude but the blessing add a dexterity dice nevertheless. It seems to be in contradiction with the rule to me so what don't I understand?

Note that the rule says "normally". The Emerald of Dexterity is instructing you to do something different, namely use your Dexterity die instead of your Constitution die for your Fortitude check. Blessings add a die of the same type that you are using for the check, which is now a d10.


All right, it's obvious now. Thanks for your clarifications.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Emerald of dexterity and blessing. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion