| Johnny_Devo |
| 3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
At 19th level, the magus gains access to an expanded spell list. He learns and places 14 spells from the wizard’s spell list into his spellbook as magus spells of their wizard level. He gains two of each of the following wizard spells not on the magus spell list:
0-level, 1st-level, 2nd-level, 3rd-level, 4th-level, 5th-level, and 6th-level.
He can ignore the somatic component of these spells, casting them without the normal chance of spell failure.
Basically, I'm wondering if "learns" is the same as "adds to list of spells known". The ability is clearly written for a prepared caster, and the eldritch scion archetype doesn't touch the ability at all. So does it work the same way? Does the eldritch scion just learn two wizard spells of each level?
| Zwordsman |
I think it was brought up before.. and I don't think it got an answer.
Technically speaking. RAW. I break it down into 3 effects.
Learns the spells
Places spells in a spell book,
and more specificall "gains two of each .....spell list"
So.. I think you do learn the spells, and you can (and may have to ) put htem into a spell book.. but the spell book isn't related to casting for you.
So i think it was a mistake on their part, but RAW speaking..
you learn the spells--which gaining the ability to cast them.Gaining said ability isn't specific to how you prepare or not. Its just the ability to cast a spell that you know.
and then you end up writing in spell books too.. Which.. i guess you could just sell at that point. It may actually require you to buy an empty book just for that level
So yeah.. two effects are writte. learning the spells/putting them on your spell list and writing said spells into a book. You as a spont caster can indeed do both techincally. You just can't use a spellbook
So not intended but the wording is as such.
I think