Dispel magic and multi target spells


Rules Questions


My group has only recently started running into dispel magic in Pathfinder and I'm not sure entirely about the effects on certain spells. I understand how things work when dispelling single target effects even with multiple effects on a target but what about a multi target spell such as haste or communal resist energy. What about multiple creatures summoned with one summon spell?

Dispel magic says "You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell’s caster level). If successful, that spell ends."

So is haste dispelled from only the target or does the "spell" end along with all of its targets. What if I specifically target the spell haste itself instead of a creature. Would it then be considered "a spell affecting an area" like wall of fire? If I target a summon spell do all the summoned creatures disappear or do I have to target a single creature?

Especially with the reduced effects of the spell it seems like I should be able to take down a whole spell and not just one target worth of its effects. I know in 3.5 I always used the rule that it only affects one target but back then there was an AoE effect which could be used to target multiple effects from one spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dispel magic and multi target spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions