DC to cast a Spell-Like Ability defensively?


Rules Questions


This question came up in a fairly recent session I was having with some friends. Our Mongrel Sorcerer had chosen the Kobold Bloodline for the day, which gives him Trap Rune. In combat, he decided to enter the space adjacent to a bugbear and lay down a trap rune in the bugbear's space, which we figured would simply trigger and blow up in the bugbear's face. However, the issue came about when we were trying to figure out the DC to cast the spell-like ability defensively to avoid a smack to the head. Since the DC is 15 + 2x spell level, we naturally reached the question "What the heck is the spell level of a spell-like ability?" We eventually ruled it as a level 1 spell, which made the DC 17, but one could easily say it was equivalent to a level 0. I couldn't find anything looking through the rules or from a quick look in the forums. Anyone have the same issue in the past?


FAQ The level of the SLA is equal to the highest level spell you have access to when you gain the ability - 1st level for trap rune.


Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / DC to cast a Spell-Like Ability defensively? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions