Does this work?


Rules Questions


Toppling Spell (Metamagic)

Your spells with the force descriptor knock the affected creatures prone.

Benefit: The impact of your force spell is strong enough to knock the target prone. If the target takes damage, fails its saving throw, or is moved by your force spell, make a trip check against the target, using your caster level plus your casting ability score bonus (Wisdom for clerics, Intelligence for wizards, and so on). This does not provoke an attack of opportunity. If the check fails, the target cannot attempt to trip you or the force effect in response.

A toppling spell only affects spells with the force descriptor.

Level Increase: +1 (a toppling spell uses up a spell slot one level higher than the spell's

------------------------

Does is work to use Toppling Magic Missiles and pick up Feats in the trip chain to add to this trip check CMB?

Grand Lodge

No... Toppling spell does what it does, no more, no less, and you can't attach feats to it.


LazarX wrote:
No... Toppling spell does what it does, no more, no less, and you can't attach feats to it.

Are you sure? When I read the Improved Trip feat it reads:

Improved Trip (Combat)

You are skilled at sending your opponents to the ground.

Prerequisite: Int 13, Combat Expertise.

Benefit: You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing a trip combat maneuver. In addition, you receive a +2 bonus on checks made to trip a foe. You also receive a +2 bonus to your Combat Maneuver Defense whenever an opponent tries to trip you.

Normal: You provoke an attack of opportunity when performing a trip combat maneuver.

I would interpret that to be yes, as it does not specifically state that it only applies to weapon attacks. Is there an explicit ruling on this somewhere?


Although, I just reread it. It says when you make a trip Combat Maneuver... is the trip attempt you make through the spell not technically a combat maneuver? If not, then you are correct and this does not work.


It's still a Trip Maneuver check. Anything that adds to Trip checks add to this (though anything that adds directly to CMB would not).


Is there a FAQ on this? I now have two conflicting answers. XD


Anyone know for sure which it is?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Gregor Greymane wrote:
Anyone know for sure which it is?

Since you have conflicting answers and there is no FAQ and likely not going to be one in the next five years. The only one that knows for sure is your GM. Ask your GM.

Some spells say "use your caster level for your BAB" and they would add into the check anything you have. This says "use your CL + ability" and doesn't say "make a trip combat maneuver" but instead "trip check".

Depending on your GM this is a trip cmb one of these:

  • Your BAB + STR (or DEX if relevant) and other stuff for trip plus your CL and your caster ability mod
  • Your CL and ability mod replaces the BAB and STR (or DEX)
  • Just your CL and ability mod vs their Trip CMD

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does this work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.