Cleave + Natural Attacks


Rules Questions


I am currently setting up an encounter with a Retriever in it. The retriever has cleave and I would just like to know how that works with its attacks.

I know using a cleave means that I can only use a single attack but its bite comes with a grab attempt. So do I roll those grab attempts on a successful cleave attack? It doesn't make sense to me that I can grab with my bite attack and then bite the next guy in line...

Second question in about cleave with my claw attack. It has Claw x4 so does that mean I do all 4 of those attacks and then my cleave would do those four on the next guy? Do all four of those attacks have to hit for the cleave to work? Or is it just one claw attack? I was under the impression that Claw x4 is a single attack (since is the one weapon) but I'm not entirely sure.


It could grab the first opponent but if it then wants to attack the second opponent with that weapon it would need to release the grab (a free action).

Alternately, it could forgo the grab attempt on the first opponent.

2nd question: cleave is a standard action, you cannot combine it with a full attack action. So either the creature can cleave or it can make a full attack.

Example:
Bite +4 claws = full attack action
Bite using Cleave = standard action, claws are not an option.

Usually, a creature is going to go with it's full attack action when it can and only use cleave when it cannot perform a full attack action.


You can cleave with bite, but I don't think you want to as to do it you have to forgo grab on first opponent.
It's more efficient and logical to cleave with a claw (more damage). You cleave with single attack, not single attack type. So 1 claw. Take a look at the picture Retriever has several claws and each is treated as separate weapon/attack. There are no iterative attacks for natural attacks.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

On bite and grab, you technically can bite the second target and potentially grapple him as well with the same bite. Yes visually its pretty awkward and I'd expect funny looks but if RAW is your only concern you'd be fine. If you feel biting another target while grappling with a target is too awkward, just don't use the grab on the first foe.

4 Claws attacks is not one weapon. Its 4 limbs with 1 (natural) weapon on each. So you get just one claw attack on a standard attack action. And 1 additional attack if you hit with a cleave.


Boo on only one claw attack. But it makes sense. Guess I'm just a mean GM..lol. Thanks everyone for the information.


Maezer is indeed correct.

If you bite and grapple a target, and also have cleave, there is nothing which prevents you making the additional attack (and potentially grappling an additional target).

This is, however, how books get thrown.

Grand Lodge

cleave : standard action (as mentioned, not full attacks)
-> Make an additional attack if the first one hits

nothing prevents you to bite (+grapple) on #1 and claw on #2 (keeping the grapple on #1) ?

it's not mentioned using same weapon, only using highest base attack bonus


Huh, I think you are right Vrischika111.

CRB p119 wrote:

Cleave (Combat)

You can strike two adjacent foes with a single swing.
Prerequisites: Str 13, Power Attack, base attack bonus +1.
Benefit: As a standard action, you can make a single attack at your full base attack bonus against a foe within reach. If you hit, you deal damage normally and can make an additional attack (using your full base attack bonus) against a foe that is adjacent to the first and also within reach. You can only make one additional attack per round with this feat. When you use this feat, you take a –2 penalty to your Armor Class until your next turn.

While the fluff bit says 'single swing' and I believe the intent is to use a single weapon there is nothing in the benefit section that states you must use the same weapon.


Interesting, I've always assumed that the cleave attack had to be with the same weapon (it fits the mental imagery associated with the name).
It does appear you can, in fact, switch to a claw for the second attack... but you don't NEED to.
You can bite two people and grapple them both, if you so choose.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleave + Natural Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions